A Breakfast of Answers

I’m a little disappointed that only three readers responded to the latest WTH  v.3 challenge. Did you not eat your breakfast people? Not enough coffee or tea or sugar to foment creativity?

What the heck?

Seriously, though, thank you for reading, liking or participating in the last post. My simple objective, other than egotistical self-gratification, is to always engage readers at MJM and hope at least one person comes back for more melange.

Okay, so back to breakfast. What did you have to eat this morning? Soft-boiled eggs? Cereal? Toast and jelly? Leftover pizza? Half of a toaster struedel left on the kitchen counter by your teenage son?

Bacon-Egg-Toast-Cups
Breakfast of champions!

Did any of you have bacon?

As you may know, I love bacon. Bacon in the morning, bacon in the evening, bacon at supper time. It’s an all-time favorite, fatty, smoky, crispy meat. I even wrote about it HERE.

Bacon is the reason the kitchen towel caught my eye and provided the muse for this latest challenge. So, without further ado, the answer is:

“I want to grow my own food, but I can’t find…any BACON SEEDS.” Yes, bacon seeds. Tiny pieces of plantable gold. I need them bad. Like I need dark chocolate bad. (If anyone out there has a black market connection, I might be interested. Meet me behind the Piggly Wiggly tonight at 11:00 pm. The police patrol doesn’t make its rounds until midnight. I’ll bring cash.)

Unfortunately, no one came close to this answer, so everyone gets a big and loud, incorrect buzzer. No points here.

Let’s continue on with the next two questions and their answers.

The name for a group of pigs depends on their age.

passel
Can pigs fly?

Numerous young pigs in the pen are called drift, drove or litter. The only points awarded, to all three respondents, was the answer of litter. Ding! Ding! Ding! You each receive a point. Congratulations!

A bevy of adult pigs are known as: Sounder of swine; a team; passel of hogs; singular of boars. No points here, the incorrect buzzer makes another loud noise.

Note: Natasha provided the reason behind the pig questions. I won’t say how the topic came up, but let’s just say we have both been giggling like 9 year old boys over the term sounder of swine. We give two thumbs up to SOS and have already used it on several occasions to label anything that smells.

Finally, the final answer. (MOSY is going to hugely kick herself.)

The flower in the photo is:

pigface

Carpobrotus rossii, commonly known as karkalla, noodle snacks or Pig Face (Western Australia), is a succulent coastal groundcover plant native to southern Australia.  The species occurs in the states of Western Australia, Southern Australia, Tasmania and Victoria. It can be found year-round in large patches covering the dunes close to the ocean, due to its hardy nature and salt resistance. Aboriginal people eat the fruit traditionally, fresh and dried. The salty leaves were also reported to have been eaten with meat (bacon?). Extracts of the plant have significant in vitro antioxidant, antiplatelet, and anti-inflammatory activity.

(Thanks to Wikipedia for most of this information.)

Did you notice that there was a theme to this challenge, that every question and/or answer was related? Yeah, I bet you did, unless you left your computer to go out to the kitchen and fry up a couple pieces of bacon or out to the barn to slop the singular.

In the end, two respondents tied with one point each and get a pig snort and an honorable mention. Their blogs rock, as do they, for their passel of attempted answers.

Dan from “No Facilities”

H from “Master of Something I’ve Yet to Discover”

One respondent managed to stick a tired hoof out and make me laugh with a groaner. I am awarding her an additional snort and one thumb up. Winner!

Pig Pen Joanne from “My Life Lived Full”

Never fear readers, there will be another WTH challenge down the road. Perhaps next time I’ll offer a REAL prize, like a box of erasers or a scratched Journey CD. Stay tuned.

In the meantime, regular programming will resume with the usual cat photos, mom stories and intricacies of an exciting *yawn* life!

21 responses to A Breakfast of Answers

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I hadn’t had bacon the day I answered but I think we should get another snort since it’s obvious that we didn’t cheat. A Sounder of swine? Seriously? Maybe I thought it was a bunch of pigs because my mom always said that’s what the house looked like it had been occupied by when she came home from work.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Your mom gets an extra snort for calling ’em like she sees ’em. Bunch of pigs is what most people call that group…sounder of swine sounds like an expensive brand of bacon or a royal boar.

  2. Herman says:

    Only espresso and dark chocolate in the morning. Bacon & eggs are too much for me… 😉

  3. As I believe I already iterated, I had not even had a cup of tea when I answered, let alone my powerful Vegemite toast. Next time can you post it nearer the end of my day when I am suitably additionally fuelled with chocolate? Ta.

    Damn. My RAM had a glitch. I knew it was Pig’s something. Just picked the wrong bit of anatomy. But I did say I was botanically-challenged. Plant names don’t stick. Random crap, yes, important scientific data, not so much.

    Thanks for the fun. Looking forward to the next one. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Considering the time difference and the fact that your end of the day is around 5 am here…No! I can barely get one eye open and type on the smart phone at that time, let alone publish a post. It took me 20 minutes to type this somewhat sensible comment because I haven’t had a shower or coffee or chocolate.

      Anyhow…you gave it a good try and were soooooo close to getting the name of the flower. So close. That, in itself, probably should have given you another oink or squeal, but close only counts in horseshoes.

      • I don’t usually go to bed until after midnight – which is, what, like 9am in your part of the world? – if that helps at all. 🙂

        Mm. More thought might have got me there but my brain was overly occupied with strategies for surviving another day at school…

      • bikerchick57 says:

        9 am doesn’t help much…I would be at work. Lately, the only time I have to formulate thought for a post is during lunch break, if I don’t have to run to the store or desire to go for a walk. Anyhow, have fun at school and eat plenty of chocolate!

  4. I wanted to play, I really did. But rules is rules and I did not turn to Google or any other source of help. Next time: I cheat!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Maggie, you are a rebel! Next time, I’ll have to think of something that isn’t Google-able, if there is such an animal, and you will have to guess right along with everyone else. So, put your guessing /thinking cap on and stand by!

Leave a Reply

