Letting Go

It’s that time of year when Natasha and I switch out our winter wardrobe for the summer wardrobe. It’s also a time of purging and donating apparel that continue to hang in the closet, year after year, because “some day I might wear this.”

The sweatshirt you see was given to me on my 40th birthday by a lovely group of friends and co-workers. They surprised me with a birthday party and this gift. The memory of its acquisition and the toastiness of its material has kept me hanging onto it the past few winters, although I wore it seldom.

And, so, I’m finally saying goodbye to a friend of 17 years. It’s been like a wubbie, a comforting blanket, but the unremovable spots have kept me from wearing it in public. Perhaps it will become someone’s purple paisley shirt at Goodwill. PS: I have two more Packer sweatshirts, a jacket and #12 jersey, so it’s not like this is sacrilege. Just sharing my green and gold love with someone else. 

Packer swtshrt

We all have something that was hard to let go of. Or is still hanging in the closet, fond memories forbidding it to leave.

What is this piece of clothing for you? A little black dress? Your father’s tie? A child’s first onesy?

10 responses to Letting Go

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I’m shocked! Tossing a GB sweatshirt? I hope it’s the one you were wearing when they won the Super Bowl against Pittsburgh – we need to rid the world of that good luck charm.

    I have a Pirates tee that is so thin, I can’t wear it in public. Not that there’s anything to see, but because at any moment it’s going to get snagged on a bush and self-destruct. I have tossed stuff in recent years but I find it easier to let go of dress shirts and khakis than team gear.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Nope, that’s not the sweatshirt I was wearing. Ha! In fact, I stopped wearing it on Packer Sunday, during the Favre years, because they lost every time I put it on. On the other hand, my #12 jersey often brings good news (except for the last playoff game), so I wear it most often. That I will probably keep forever.

  2. pussycats3 says:

    I had a favorite sweater that I wore until the holes were visible to anyone nearby. It was dark navy blue, and was the most comfortable and just the right weight for a little cover-up. I think I had it for over 20 years and finally, when having a life change, I gave it up – sadly.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      RIP favorite sweater! I had a pink bathrobe that had holes when I said goodbye. Thankfully, I was the only one who saw them, but it was a sad day when I had to give it up.

  3. We just went through our stuff this past weekend and donated to Goodwill. We are scared to hit our storage unit soon to also switch out our clothes for summer. Forgot what’s in there!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Good luck with that. I never remember everything I own because I simply have too many clothes. I really need to pare down 😉

  4. joannesisco says:

    It must be that time of year. I too have been purging my closet and have been absolutely ruthless. The feeling is both uncomfortable and freeing at the same time.

Leave a Reply

