Rejoice in the Mount!

Let me tell you what I think of bicycling. I think it has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world. It gives women a feeling of freedom and self-reliance. I stand and rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a wheel…the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood.  ~Susan B. Anthony~

BikeRide

On a brisk and blue Sunday afternoon, she was an emancipated, free woman.

When the spirits are low, when the day appears dark, when work becomes monotonous, when hope hardly seems worth having, just mount a bicycle and go out for a spin down the road, without thought on anything but the ride you are taking.  ~Sir Arthur Conan Doyle~

The virgin ride of the season, spirits high, she thought of nothing but the mount and the road before her.

Melancholy is incompatible with bicycling.  ~James E. Starrs~

So true, she rejoices! So true!

13 responses to Rejoice in the Mount!

  1. Dan Antion says:

    That looks like a beautiful place to ride, and a great day. I’m not sure if the local path is open (depends on those eagle babies) so I am waiting for the towns to sweep the sand off the roads. Way more on the road this year than usual. I’m looking forward to the first ride.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      That is an old train bridge across a small lake that they converted to a walking/biking/dog-walking trail. It’s within walking distance of where I work, so I may be headed over there again at lunch…this time on two feet. I hope you get your first ride in soon, Dan. Spring is finally alive!

  2. M-R says:

    This REALLY appeals to me, M-J: you manage to get across your love of it in so brief a fashion.
    I saw a bike in the window of our hardware store, the other day, for $395 !!!!! I was almost tempted to go in and ask about it …

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks M-R! Only $395? The bikes at the bike shop where I have work done starts at $395 American, but the really nice ones are thousands of dollars. I am so grateful to my brother for giving me his as I could have never afforded it on my own.

      • M-R says:

        My reaction exactly … So I called up my lovely gay hardware shop friend and asked him; and it turns out it’s second-hand, given to his next-door neighbour for xmas. She has never ridden it ! (Even if that’s not true, I wouldn’t care.) So I’ve made an arrangement to go over to the shop at 7.30, when the open, and take it out for a try.
        M-J, I used to ride bikes ALL THE TIME when I was young: am I going to remember how, 55 years later ?

      • bikerchick57 says:

        One never forgets how to ride a bike. Just be careful…take it slow and try not to hurt yourself from smiling when you get to pedaling 🙂

      • M-R says:

        I shall be nervous, because if I do fall I don’t know how I’ll get up again …

  3. joannesisco says:

    I’ve never ridden a bike purely for fun. For me, cycling was always WORK … training to be stronger and faster.
    I like your description of feeling joy and freedom. Maybe I should try your version of cycling 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks