Fresh Ride

Weekly Photo Challenge: Fresh

It’s the first day of spring, but there are few signs of green grass in Wisconsin and it’s much too early to witness the popping green leaves of crocus, tulips or daffodils. The area in which I live has been dry and we are waiting the freshness of a spring rain to start the green growing season.

In the meantime, the label of “fresh” is attached to the tire of my bicycle.

Fresh

The rubber tire, metal frame and orange color signal a brand new biking season. It’s upon us. With weather just a few degrees warmer, this bicycle will soon make a new year’s start on the State and local bike trails.

But first…the wheel and its attached components require a trip to the service department for a refresh and tune-up. The kickstand has to be tightened, a rear fender and bike rack installed, tires replaced and a general “once over” to ensure all is safe and working properly. (I don’t want any surprises when I am 10 miles into a bike ride.)

Once that is done, it will be only a matter of time and temperature before the first fresh ride on two spoke wheels coexist with spring’s fresh green grass and the colorful surprise of bursting bulbs.

I can barely wait…

10 responses to Fresh Ride

  1. LB says:

    Hi Mary! It seems so long since I’ve visited!
    Good for you for getting that bike ready to roll. Spring is here (I think) and I look forward to hearing about your upcoming rides.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Where the heck have you been? What are you doing with your free time? ;-p

      Seriously, I can hardly wait to get back on the mountain bike. It’s in the shop getting ready for the trails. Now I simply have to wait for good weather and some time for myself. 🙂

  2. quarksire says:

    went for a pedal powered ryde today myself here in da hillz…
    big effort an fun to jest try to get round my whole block without having to take a break or get off the bike to push! lol ryde safe 😎 …… Q

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks