Sky on Fire

On March 8th, the majority of North Americans rejoiced in Daylight Saving and the positive change it would bring.

Me? I shed a little tear and whined a bit.

In exchange for extended sun and light in the evening, I gave up the morning sun that had been showing its face for the two weeks prior. I LOVE morning sun. Love waking up to it. In the week before Daylight Saving, I brought out the sunglasses a few sun-blinding times during a drive into work. On March 9th, at 6:30 am, I once again drove in the dark, feeling a bit grumpy, missing the big yellow ball.

Wah. 😦

But then I finally realized that with the sun in my face two weeks ago, I was missing the awesome sunrises of winter days past, much like this one.

Assortment 013

Today, while driving down the same road, I encountered the sky on fire.

Assortment 014

It was really THAT red. The morning sky was so gorgeous that I drove past the office and onto the highway overpass to get a better look at the blaze.

Assortment 016

With Daylight Saving time, I have been able to re-live the gorgeous sunrises that occur about five minutes before I have to sit in an office for the remainder of the morning. The sunlight comes through the office window, but I rarely pay attention to the sky as I turn on the computer and head to the coffee pot. Soon, there will be full-on sunlight in the early morning again, the sun will blind, I’ll whip out the sunglasses and the red-sky fire on the horizon will be forgotten.

That’s perfectly fine. It’s spring – time to gaze happily past winter’s sunrise toward longer days and a warm-up to summer.

(PS: If you or your cat would love a fabulous sunset photo, please run over to “Hands on Bowie” and check out the Red Dot.)

22 responses to Sky on Fire

  1. Dan Antion says:

    I hate DST Mary. I feel so good as my commute changes gradually to a daylight ride. When I am sent back into darkness, I am sad. The sunlight will come back, and it will stay, but I just don’t see the need to shift time in this way.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      The day begins so much better with sun. Hang in there, Dan, the days will lengthen into the morning very soon.

  2. joannesisco says:

    Your post reminded me of the many mornings I would head out in the dark, very early in the morning, to drive 2 hours to meet my hiking partner at the start of the day’s hike on the Bruce Trail.

    After being on the road for an hour or more and watching the morning sun start to brighten the sky was like witnessing a daily miracle. Much like your gorgeous crimson sunrise, some of them were simply spectacular 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I have seen the most amazing sunrises this past winter…and sunsets too. I’m not sure if they have been more beautiful due to weather or if I’m simply noticing them more often. Either way, I hope I see more red skies in the morning.

  3. Herman says:

    Love the photographs, so beautiful! I’m not a fan of the Daylight Saving Time thing, we’re changing our clocks next week. But I’m happy about your ‘PS’. Thank you very much, Mary J!

  4. ladysighs says:

    I dislike DST because I have to reset all the clocks and can’t remember how to do the oven or microwave or car. A big pain to get out the instruction book. 😦

    Beautiful sunrise!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s too bad those items don’t automatically reset themselves – like the cell phone or computer or DVR. That would make DST a little more enjoyable.

  5. Gorgeous shots. I really love the change this time of year. The light especially. Everything but the pollen. Coughcoughcough.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Pollen is low here, everything is still brown, so it must be something else that made me froggish this past week.

  6. M-R says:

    Personally I detest daylight saving: but a large part of my problem is that we now have it for SIX MONTH !!! Bloody ludicrous.
    Your sky on fire is totally wonderful, and you are to be congratulated, M-J !! 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks M-R. If only we could have light from 5:30 am to 8:30 pm all year around, that would be most excellent. I certainly would enjoy winter better with longer boughts of sunshine.

  7. Oh, gosh, I LOVE that last photo!
    At least you know your days are going to get lighter. We will switch off daylight savings at the end of this month and while it will provide temporary reprieve, I know it will only be a week or two before I am back to rowing in the dark.

Leave a Reply

