Mixing it Up Since March of 2013

“A two-year-old is kind of like having a blender, but you don’t have a top for it.” ~Jerry Seinfeld~

Blender Mess

I’ve come to realize in recent years that I don’t always finish what I start. I don’t stay committed. This is especially true with consistent exercise and healthy eating habits, but also applies to a pushed-aside plan to organize photographs. I can only blame my own laziness and boredom, with an occasional time crunch, for the lack of follow-through.

This is why I am surprised that I continue to blog after two years.

March 17, 2013, is the day I went topless on WordPress. There were no sensors to stop what would become a blended muddle of cats, a mother, photography, poetry, dating, friendship, exercising, moving, spring cleaning, eating, chocolate martinis, flowers, and other pieces of the splattered kitchen counter I could throw at a post. And throw at you, dear reader. I can only assume that you’ve enjoyed the whirring and pulsing of the blender’s mélange. Otherwise, you wouldn’t put up with the mess.

With self-astonishment at continued blogging, I realize the love of writing is the most important and number one reason I have stayed with this endeavor. It has become somewhat of a passion, an expression of creativity that I believe I suppressed for many years. I enjoy writing as much as I enjoy the grassy smell of a new spring or the oral sensation of melting dark chocolate. Writing is cool, fun, silly, thought-provoking, mind-bending, tasty and a way to avoid boring tasks. If it ever stops being such, it would be a sad day…one in which I would have to say goodbye to the WordPress community and hello to the photo organization project. #shuddersattheprospect

The next best reason for being here is you: The readers, commenters, followers, likers, and even those that lurk in the shadows of the side bar to silently read and then be gone like a barefoot Kwai Chang Caine across rice paper. I adore, admire and thank each and every one of you for stopping by to read. I really do. Even though the main event at WP is writing, I am a social person. I enjoy meeting new people, reading about YOU, learning about custom and culture in other countries, and realizing that we’re all wonderful humans in the same messy kitchen. I would love to be able to post links to all of your blogs and sing your individual praises, but I don’t have that kind of time. Plus remember – I’m lazy and bored. Instead, here is what I would ask you to do:

  • Post a link to your blog in the comment section, and/or
  • Say something interesting or fascinating about yourself so that at least one person will click on your link and read your latest or greatest post, and/or
  • Tell me what part of my blender ingredients you love best or love the least. Cat stories? Tales from mom? Photographs? Diatribes about nothing? Awful, insipid poetry? Tell me true as I want to make this blog inviting to you.

(My apologies if that feels like math homework. I simply want you to be proud of your blog, proud of yourself, and honest with the crazy woman who writes this nonsense.)

So, in summation, I love writing and I adore all of you for stopping by and reading. I plan to keep going as long as it’s entertaining and fun for all, or until my fingers fall off, or until I have nothing to say, or until photo projects become my passion…

…or until I stop using the topless blender.

25 responses to Mixing it Up Since March of 2013

  1. Carol says:

    Two years is a long time! I hope I still enjoy blogging after two years. That is, if my furry siblings haven’t completed a hostile takeover by then! Onto your questions…
    1. My blog: creekviewcarol.com
    2. Something about myself: I’m the one that hides LOUD Mom’s hand-crocheted coasters around the house. (I let her think it’s my brother, Steve.)
    3. Of course my favorite thing about your blog is your cat tales! But I consider myself well-rounded and enjoy other stories as well as photography. And I always appreciate a good diatribe 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for your wonderful comments and for following direction! You are a smart cat! I won’t tell the loud one that you are the perpetrator since you enjoy my cat tales. I’ll tell Gibbs and Ziva that they have a “follower” and I sure hope to see you around same time next year.

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I enjoy reading most everything you post here. I am drawn to random bits, true stories, and photos and I like poetry. So, yeah everything.

    This link is not a typical blog post of mine but it’s one I wish more people would read. http://nofacilities.com/2014/09/02/the-jupiter-effect/ If I worked harder at writing, I would pursue topics like this more often.

    Happy anniversary – keep going Mary.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for giving the blender two thumbs up, Dan! Oh, and everyone needs to go read The Jupiter Effect. That is a very sobering post, but I’m glad you wrote it. Marty was a very special person.

  3. ladysighs says:

    When at your blog I arrive
    I know that you always strive
    To keep amusement alive
    That takes a powerful drive
    Glad two years you did survive

    I like blogs that aren’t predictable. My greatest hope is that my readers always wonder what I will post about today.
    I think your blog is rather like that. Something different each time.

    https://ladysighs.wordpress.com/

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I love the poem…thank you! I’m glad that you appreciate the unpredictability because I don’t think I could focus in on just one topic. Even Gibbs the cat can be boring after while! 😉

      • ladysighs says:

        When I decided to start a blog, someone told me it was best to write about something I knew. Fortunately, I didn’t know much about anything and nixed that idea.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        In actuality, we all know more than we think. I thought I was going to run out of stories and ideas after six months…until I found out I could write posts about lint and Oreos and adult refreshments and people would read. 🙂 Keep on with the poetry, it’s wonderful!

  4. Congrats on the two year milestone!

    I enjoy the “you” stuff you write. Cats are cute, and of course, they rule the world, but what really engages me are stories of the every day. The stories that reveal, if only slightly, something that I can relate to. Because we do relate to one another through our writing.

    A lurker. Who blogs less than she used to, but for just over a year here: https://mcwilson1956.wordpress.com/

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Maggie, I’ll try to work more on the “me” stuff in coming days. I don’t know if it will be anything uber exciting as I don’t have anything on the landscape other than same old work, eat, sleep, visit with mom, etc. I would love to report about how I packed my bags, got on a plane, and went to a sunny Florida beach for a week, but…

  5. “I enjoy writing as much as I enjoy the grassy smell of a new spring or the oral sensation of melting dark chocolate.” I like your writing and your photography. I’m going to suggest Flickr for organizing and publishing photos. I have yet to explore your whole blog, but I like the topless blender effect. I think my blog is a bit like that, some days. This is my blog https://metalflowermaker.wordpress.com It is a meandering place with, poetic disobedience, prose poems, gentle diatribes, baby translations, good and bad photography and writing about moods, pain and my current state in life. Congratulations on the two year anniversary!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for your kind comments and the suggestion about Flickr. I have to do something soon with the photos before I lose them.

      • A free Flickr account gives you huge storage space. A professional account gives you more space, I think without ads. It is ridiculously cheap, and you may have the ability to make the site private, for your use. they have made some changes since being bought by Yahoo? but the sorting features are pretty easy. Sets, collections and groups are options. Also consider a 2TB external hard drive. I have something like 30,000 plus images. I only keep 10,000 on my laptop. The rest are stored. I need to spend time sorting through my iPhoto libraries. I use iPhoto library manager, but I fear it is about to be obsolete. I’m not sure if you’re on a mac or a pc but I just found this link. http://photo-organizing-software-review.toptenreviews.com/ I don’t know what you need, but start your research here. This may help.

  6. joannesisco says:

    MJ, I love the randomness of your blog and the humour you inject into everything. Two years is a significant milestone and I hope you will continue posting for a very long time! I love the line ‘we’re all wonderful humans in the same messy kitchen’ … what a great visual!!

    https://mylifelivedfull.wordpress.com/ …. always looking for a new challenge to excite and inspire me.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Joanne, you are awesome. Thank you so much for your wonderful words of encouragement. I hope we both continue to blog away the next year or two or three or…

  7. Oh, I’m glad my equipment (read brain) troubles didn’t mean I missed your anniversary. But you know it’s already taken, right? Some bloke with a stick and a thing against snakes. He’s probably happy to share if you buy him a pint of the black stuff, though.

    DON’T MAKE ME DO HOMEWORK! I DON’T WANNA DO HOMEWORK! AAAARRRGH!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You didn’t do well in Math class, did you? Or was Biology? Well, I don’t care about the man with the stick or the snakes because it’s also my GF’s birthday and myself and another GF are taking her out to eat and not drink beer. We’ll eat something green, like broccoli or mint frosted brownies.

      • It depends. Is it algebra or calculus? Algebra I can do. Calculus gives me hives.
        Broccoli brownies? Okay. Whatever rocks your taste buds.
        What? Oh. Sorry. I think my equipment may still be a little faulty…

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I sucked at Algebra, never took calculus. NO, not broccoli brownies (although one could put their mushings into the batter). No, I said mint (green) frosted brownies. Geesh, you ARE having equipment issues.

  8. I don’t always like or comment but I read your blog posts. I love the fact that you find humor in pretty much everything in life. And your cats’ photos are a great. My blog is like yours, my small home where I share bits of my life and writing adventures through my French lens. I blog since 2010 so I don’t know which post is my favorite. But it’s a good idea for a post to do so! Thanks for making me smile. 😊

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for your lovely words, Evelyn. The cats thank you as well! You’ve been blogging for five years? That’s a lofty accomplishment, I think, to stick with a blog that long. Congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

