Waiting Patiently

No winter lasts forever; no spring skips its turn.

~Hal Borland~

Amaryllis 029

Nineteen days and counting.

As I snapped this photo of a bench at Fritse Park, on the shores of Little Lake Butte des Morts, I had thoughts of the comings days: Temperatures slowly warming (*fingers crossed*), snow melting (after this Tuesday’s predicted snowstorm), grass growing (once the snow melts), the promise of daffodils (if it warms up) and the maiden 2015 voyage of a mountain bike (when the grass turns green after the snow melts and it warms up).

It’s that time of year when winter is no longer welcome and I type lengthy, run-on, nonsensical sentences due to the cabin fever invading my brain cells.

I’m waiting patiently for winter to say goodbye and for spring to take its turn.

Hurry up.

11 responses to Waiting Patiently

  1. Dan Antion says:

    We are adding daylight every single day. Winter will let us go soon. Gradual melting would be welcome though, no flooding please.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Boston is going to have terrible flooding if it all melts at once. We are fine here, very little snow this winter.

      • Dan Antion says:

        We have less snow than Boston but it’s been so cold for so long that the ground is frozen deeper than usual. It will be quite some time before the water will be able to be absorbed. This needs to happen slowly.

  2. joannesisco says:

    Ahhh March. She always holds such promise, but she’s a damn tempermental piece of work. I’m never sure which version of her is going to show up. She’s not my favourite … but simply a month to survive with my sense of humour intact.

    Here’s to thoughts of warmer days 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      “Damn temperamental piece of work”…I love that and it’s so true. She came in as a cold lamb around here, so not sure what will happen at the end of the month. Maybe a hot lion? 😉

      • joannesisco says:

        ooo -hotness! I’m in 🙂

        … ask me again in August when I’m sick to death of the hot and muggy weather 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I believe Americans in the northeast would throw a snowball at you for calling the white stuff exciting…after this winter. I do find it such in December, with the first snows, but after that it becomes a bit redundant.

Leave a Reply

