The Color of Winter’s Spring

Photo challenge: Today’s word is “Reward.” How do I show reward in a photo? The response is two amaryllis bulbs that rewarded me with beautiful flowers…just when I needed a taste of spring. I posted this on Thursday, but it is so appropriate to the Friday challenge, don’t you think?


My brother’s girlfriend shipped a couple of amaryllis bulbs (in a pot) to me before Christmas. Wonderful gesture and gift, but I didn’t know what to do with them…I was lacking the space or proper sunny window where they could grow, and the bulbs are extremely toxic to cats. What to do?

Girlfriend Red to the rescue! She has grown amaryllis before and offered to get them started and keep them safe for a couple of weeks. After which, I forgot about them until the end of January, when the light bulb came on! Red laughed when I called, she had been wondering when I would come back to claim them. They were both growing, straight and sure.

The amaryllis plants then made a trip to two sunny windows in my office and cheerfully grew up over the next few weeks until magic happened. Over this past weekend, flowers began to bloom. Beautiful, glorious flowers! The color of spring in the season of winter and a reminder to hang on, warmth is around the corner.

Amaryllis2

Amaryllis3  Amaryllis5

Amaryllis4

19 responses to The Color of Winter’s Spring

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You could stick a few fake daffodils in the snow bank to help with that. For whatever reason, I was expecting white or pale yellow to pop out. The bright orange and red were a surprise.

  1. loisajay says:

    Aren’t they gorgeous? I force those and paperwhites almost every year because they are just so darn pretty!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I’m hoping that I’ll see those blooms again…later this year. That would be a pretty sight at Thanksgiving or Christmas.

  2. loisajay says:

    Early winter is when the stores usually have them in stock so people can time them to open almost exactly when they want. Oh, aren’t we having fun playing with Mother Nature! 🙂

  3. Mary, I used to grow these, and they are such happy flowers. I wish I had a spot for a couple now. Thanks for sharing yours.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are welcome, Andra! This has been a welcome dose of “happy” when it’s been so cold here. They are making me think of spring and flower planting time.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I don’t know, never had them before. I do know that I have to stop watering and cut the entire plant back to the bulb if I want to store it and make it bloom again in a few months.

  4. LB says:

    Pure joy, those flowers! A few of my friends grew them this year and I was so envious!
    Next year!

  5. joannesisco says:

    Nothing like pretty flowers to brighten up a winter day 🙂
    Happily looking forward to the warmer weather now that spring is officially here!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks