An Ode to a Drawer’s Melange

Are we done yet? Almost, dear readers. I’m starting to hit a wall, my mind is turning a poetic mush. Bear with me a little while longer, if you can.

Today, I share with you some of the contents of a drawer in my office. There is more “junk” in that drawer than what is noted below. If you have a curious mind, leave a comment with your best guess of what else the drawer might hold. If you guess correctly, I’ll work to post a link to your blog or re-blog one of your posts or mail a piece of junk to you. Thanks for reading!


Poetry Day 8: Drawer/Ode/Apostrophe

 

The drawer opens to delight,

my existence you see!

Melange of color and tint

 

Scissors, toothpicks, tape, bulldog clips

Join me in its splendor,

the mess of all, plus some lint

 

You can squeeze the blue ball,

sort through the box of staples,

and forge a Rose’s name

 

Three black lanyards present!

A cough drop or two

are here for your rummage game

 

Keys to unknown locks of past,

a whistle that lays silent,

a highlight of pink and green

 

So much for you to discover,

junk that deserves to be tossed aside

Does your head swirl and careen?

 

You are in luck, then,

For in the drawer of enchantment,

a bottle of aspirin finds a hole.

 

Take one or two or three

And shut the drawer good friend

Put to rest the mishmash, the hodgepodge of this drawer’s soul.

16 responses to An Ode to a Drawer’s Melange

  1. joannesisco says:

    Whaaat?! … no chocolate?
    My desk drawer ALWAYS had emergency chocolate. You just never know when a crisis might hit.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I had to eliminate the dark chocolate from the desk drawer. It was too easy to go overboard. In an emergency, if I’m going to die without it, a coworker in the same building always has chocolate in some form. 🙂

  2. Paper clip. There has to be at least one paper clip. Even if you store them on your desk, there’s always a stray one in any drawer. They’re the silent, twisted, secret invaders of the Universe.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ding, ding, ding, you win! Expect an invader via snail mail in about a month. It will have evil plans of some sort, so keep a watchful eye and make sure it doesn’t come in contact with another. You know how they like to procreate into an army of thousands.

      • Woot! I have not scored a prize so immense since I won a fancy Easter egg for coming first in the Easter Hat parade. My brother sat on it. He says by accident. Sibling jealousy is so ugly.

        Paper clip armies are no match for this house. We just put them through training as Christmas Ornament Hooks and they never give us trouble again.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I’ll put an ornament hook in the envelope with the paper clip and you’ll have an instant starter kit.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Juliet, thanks for your nomination, I’m honored that you would think of me. However, I have to decline at this time due to a busy week and very little time to write. I’ve been trying to write a post the last two days and have not been very successful. Your poem of love is wonderful and if I get a chance, I’ll try to sneak a peek at what your other nominees have written. Thanks again for the nomination and have an awesome day!

      • Juliet Qoey says:

        No worries Mary 🙂 Thank you. ❤

Leave a Reply

