Mother Nature

Poetry Day Three: Trust/Acrostic/Internal Rhyme

M other, must I trust?

O ut of improper belief, warmth’s thief

T hat this trust is just

H ow do I explain the pain

E very time flesh and hide walk outside?

R emembering the smile of spring’s guile

N ot the angry, bitter cold of your hand’s hold

A t a time when I pout and whine

T hat spring cannot be but a memory to me

U nrelenting you are, by far

R efusing, digging in, smiling in sin

E nding my trust until you bring spring and make the weather warmly just

My thoughts and prayers go out to the residents of the northeast, especially Boston, where they are also experiencing the bitter cold, and extreme snowfall has forced the city to push the white stuff into the ocean. Be safe and stay warm!

Mother Nature photo

 

27 responses to Mother Nature

  1. breakdownchick says:

    I’m in NH and very much appreciate that! It has been a brutal winter! Hard to stay optimistic!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Hang in there! Many of us survived the polar vortex of last winter and I’m sure you’ll survive this winter too. Another month and it will be spring (or let’s hope).

  2. That’s wonderful and i so liked each and every word being used in a sweet manner 🙂
    Prayers extended to others facing chilling winter like us…may all be safe
    Regards 🙂
    Rosalyn

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Rosalyn. I’m not sure I feel “sweet” about Mother Nature today, but I guess I will cut her some slack because I know she has some very beautiful days in her.

      • Mother nature is sweet in all her aspects, only we keep hurting her.still she tries to protect us, but disasters happen once things are beyond saturation..Your composition is very nice…thanks for sharing your views 🙂
        Stay blessed 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Take that pretty coat of yours, you’ll need it! And make sure you have hot tea or a hot toddy to keep you warm. The actual temp wouldn’t be so bad, except that the winds are supposed to pick up and drop the chill far below 0. This is the part of winter I detest!

  3. I like the sentiment very much, M-J ! – but am not entirely at ease with the form of the poem married to two (only !) of the words you use. I’m an old fart, I know; a boring old fart who likes everything to … match, I suppose. If you could find something other than ‘hide’ and ‘zing’, I would be on my knees ready to kiss your toes. [grin]
    There is no climate change – at least, so says our prime minister …

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Considering I wrote that poem in about 15 minutes (or less), I guess I did pretty well if you only have issue with two words. Stay tuned, I may still write something that is worthy of an old fart’s knee bending. 😉

  4. I’m trying to be sympathetic, really I am, but I ran 10km in 35 degree heat today. Grass is greener and all that. Or snow is whiter, bushfires are redder…

Leave a Reply

