Dark Water

I signed up for Writing 201: Poetry.

Yes, Margaret Rose, I know I’m mad.

If you have been reading here at Mary J Melange, you know I occasionally poke an amateur finger at poetry. Much like writing itself, I have not studied this art in detail. I fly by the seat of my fleece-lined long underwear and shoddy black beret. Starting today, I am engaged in two weeks of poetry lessons and writing thanks to Ben and Denise at Word Press.

What’s in it for you, dear readers? You will benefit (*fingers crossed*) from the flowery words flowing off the tongue of a Dickinson and Browning wannabe or the Dr. Suess inspired nonsense of a child in an adult’s body. You may read a post every day, you may not. Time is my constraint, but I shall do my best to keep you entertained in a regular, poetic fashion.

Are you ready?


Today, let’s write a poem about water. And/or a haiku. And/or use a simile.

 

They glare out at me

Yelling the span of an age

Demons of cold gray

 

The bottles soon mix

Cream white and liquid golden

Towel, gloves, ready

Shake with meaning, squeeze, cover

Wait, wait longer, then warm rain

 

Dark water plummets

Like chocolate red leaves to earth

Gray strands are absent

 

@benhuberman

34 responses to Dark Water

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks, I think this will be a good learning experience for me. And yes, you should, if you are still able.

      • ladysighs says:

        I will probably just audit you for a bit. Monitor and keep track of progress. lol
        It may just be too late for me. Pretty set in my ways. 😦 I have a one track rhyme scheme. 🙂

  1. When you get to my age, they won’t bother you. [grin]
    Bet you’d look bloody good if you let ’em go …
    The poem ? – damned good. You’re amazing. Complimenti, amica mia !

  2. So is that a poem, a haiku or a simile? Sorry, I’m a poetry newb. The only haiku I know is on a t-shirt I own: “Haikus are easy, But sometimes they don’t make sense, Refrigerator.”

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! I like that haiku! Mine is a haiku and tanka written with simile. I’m a newb to this too, so I’ve had to research every date on form and style…getting an education!

Leave a Reply

