I Want What I Want!

Gibbs has been encouraging me to sign up for Writing 201: Poetry at the Daily Post.  I have resisted up to this point, so Mr. Blister (Natasha’s name for this one) decided he would take a stab at this writing style with both gray paws and his self-serving attitude. I think it’s a little Dr. Seuss-ish, but read on and decide for yourself.

Upside-down-cat
I want what I want!

Right here and now

There are no negotiations

This I vow

 

I want what I want!

You cannot sleep

Hurry, human

Get up and feed me

 

I want what I want!

I’ll show you true

As I push your papers on the floor

This is your clue…

 

That I want what I want!

And I will not stop

No matter if you are mad

No, I will NOT stop

 

I want what I want!

So there goes your stuff

Onto the floor, in disarray

Then I whisper a lion’s huff

 

Hey, human, I want what I want!

Why don’t you get up?

I know you are under there

Hiding in the covers…wut up?

 

I want what I want!

You cannot say no

I knead your head with my claws

My desire you will not forego

 

I want what I want!

This is a decree

If you snooze your phone one more time

Into your shoes I shall p…

 

What human?

 

I don’t get what I want?

But I am cat

And you are mere human

You are to bow to me…on the red mat

 

No, I get what I want!

See, you’ve given in

You’re a** is out of bed

I win! I win!

cat_dish

I want what I want!

Don’t wash your face first

Put food in my dish

Or upon you I place a curse

 

I want what I want!

Your walk is too slow

Yet, finally there is progress

To the food we go

 

I want what I want!

Was that so terribly bad?

There is food in my dish

You can stop being mad

 

I got what I wanted!

It took an act from above

And an hour of struggle

With the human I love

 

No, really, I love you human!

You attempt to treat me well

Except when I want what I want

And you tell me “Go to h_ _ _!”

 

And there you have it. Poetry from a cat. Please be sure to give your feedback to Mr. Gibbs and don’t worry about repercussions if it’s not exactly good – you are safe. I’ve recently clipped his claws and he doesn’t own a car or a passport.

26 responses to I Want What I Want!

      • pike says:

        All those 🙂 , but my cat is very demanding with respect to her food…

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You are a greedy human and I like that. You want everything, which is very catlike! Give your female her food. Otherwise, she will bay like a goat…similar to my housemate. It can be extremely irritating.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I told the human, I am The Bard. She just laughed, so I am going to shove your comment in her face. Love and purrs, Gibbs.

  1. This was very cute, and very cat-like. I know they can curse a blue streak when they believe their needs are not being met.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Madam, I do not curse a blue streak. I am a cat, not a drunken sailor. I voice my opinions appropriately. Hmpff.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I did not come with any baggage kind sir. The human only reaps benefits…mostly from my mere presence and the soft paw she feels on her face at 5:00 am. How could she ever resist that?

      • Dan Antion says:

        I know that feeling Mr Cat. It also seems to come at 3:00 am when you want attention.

  2. M-R says:

    Sounds like vintage Gibbs to me ! – no soft soap from HIM ! [grin]

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Vintage? Doesn’t that mean old? I am not old, young lady. Human tells me I’m six and that I have plenty of years left to love and annoy her.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you madam! It’s all well and good that you place me over Sir Percy’s feline. However, HE has a sword and always away to escape. I am not so fortunate *sigh*

  3. Outlier Babe says:

    Balance is restored to the universe:

    Cats is cats, thats is thats.
    Dogs and bunnies, loving honeys.
    A few exceptions prove the rule:
    Dogs and bunnies!
    Kitties drool.

      • Outlier Babe says:

        Considering that my mother’s favorite dog breed was bulldog, notorious for being unable to keep its saliva confined, I think we can say that the occasional dog drools–and snores, as well : )

Leave a Reply

