Winter’s Grip

Nothing burns like the cold. ~George R.R. Martin~

Outside Scenes 024

This was the scene yesterday morning, as I drove home from church.

Frigid cold, frigid wind. It may be hard to tell from this photo, but trust me…it was cold. The “real feel” temps were below zero.

Mr. Martin is correct, the cold can burn. And sting. And send a chill down the spine. I made one stop on my way home, for water and a few groceries. Once home, I did not venture out again. The plans of attending a Sunday afternoon hot yoga class went astray.  My only intention was to put three layers of clothes on and hide under an afghan while watching Star Trek Voyager on Netflix. (There’s something oddly enticing about Captain Janeway’s bun and Chacotay’s facial tattoo.)

I really should not complain about the cold given the weather in other parts of the country. Cold is far better than the three feet of snow meandering through Boston, left there this past week and including today’s expected 12-16″ of the white stuff.

bosto snow

Yeah, no thanks. I’ll take the cold over shoveling the car out from under a mountain of snow.

As long as the cold isn’t a polar vortex, I’m good. In fact, the high of 16 degrees and the sun made it feel almost balmy today. I’m thinking by Thursday, I will be wearing shorts and a tank top.

13 responses to Winter’s Grip

  1. Dan Antion says:

    The wind is the worst. I can deal with the cold and I actually kind of like the snow but the wind turns the cold and snow into something evil. I like the endless nature of that picture Mary. That’s how winter feels about now.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are right, Dan. Winter does start to feel endless this time of year. Six more weeks of winter can be an eternity if the weather is nasty. Let’s hope for a warm spring this year!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know Judy…it’s not easy living in the frozen north. I would love to have six months of summer, just once!

  2. SNOW!! (Sorry)

    It’s not even warm enough to wear shorts and a tank top here. Which is weird because the kids have just gone back to school and that’s usually when the 40 degree days kick in. The weather is all over the place and could probably do with a good lie down to calm its nerves.

    And…. SNOW!! 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I would think you’d be in the dog days of summer, hanging out at the pool and sweating a little while you drink your ice tea. What’s up with that? No snow for you!

Leave a Reply

