The Melange Report: Two Birds

Birds are the most popular group in the animal kingdom. We feed them and tame them and think we know them. And yet they inhabit a world which is really rather mysterious. ~David Attenborough~

In an effort to save time and feed two birds with one worm, I present to you a non-mysterious update on mom and my sugar addiction.

Update #1

Mom is awesome. After suffering a TIA last week Tuesday, she was bright, chatty and extremely alert when I saw her on Saturday. It’s as if her body received a jolt of the positive kind. The only lingering effects seem to be that her memories remain a bit more mixed up than before the TIA. Mom keeps telling me about the same news story that happened I-don’t-know-when-or-where over and over again. I just listen and pretend she’s telling me this story for the first time. I fully expect I will hear it again this coming weekend, along with her confusion about whether I’m her sister or daughter. As for the daily dose of brandy, mom was a little peeved on Saturday. Previously, on Thursday morning, I talked to Aide Heather at assisted living and asked that they not give mom any adult refreshment for a couple of days. I remained on edge about her TIA and wanted to give mom a little time for recovery. Plus, I wanted to check with her doctor that this would be allowed despite the addition of a medication. Needless to say, that didn’t sit well with mom and she thought the aides were lying to her when they told her it was my idea to refuse her nightcap. There’s that feistiness! Anyhow, the doctor had given his stamp of approval on this practice and the brandy ban was immediately lifted. Mom is back to normal, enjoying one of the few things she has left to enjoy and generally not taking anyone’s crap.

Update #2

I made it. Two weeks avoiding bad sugars. No cookies, cake, pie or corn syrup solids. No honey or maple syrup. My only cheat was an adult refreshment (I am my mother’s daughter) during a Packer game that did not end well. (I could have further drowned my sorrows in something chocolate-y good, but I held myself back.) I kept a food journal the entire time and also started a regular routine at the gym with Natasha and the pool. I’ve lost a couple of the extra holiday pounds and am feeling physically stronger. I stopped writing in the food journal after the two weeks were up, but started in again this week. For my own good. I had been attempting to avoid an assortment cookies that were in our conference room for two days. They were there for employees participating in training. The first day wasn’t bad…I was able to resist with a good amount of ease. Day two, however, almost dragged me face first into the plate of sugar, flour and chocolate chips. Tuesday was a “hungry” day (as opposed to a sugar craving day), which is an occasional day when I want to eat anything edible or non-edible in sight (I will contemplate chewing on my own arm). Cookies should never be in my proximity on those days. Anyhow, I resisted and ate an apple instead. And then I went to the gym. Then I went home and ate a healthy piece of salmon with asparagus and greens. Yum. No, really, it was yum. The journey continues, day by day. Natasha and I both know that we are better off without refined sugar and flour, which means that we will have to give away the boxes of Girl Scout cookies that we ordered from the eight year old that lives downstairs (she wants to sell 100 boxes). I know that’s a travesty, but it’s a price that we pay for clean living and neither of us can resist if the boxes are easily accessible. Then again, perhaps we’ll eat one cookie out of each box and give the rest away. No one can claim pure abstinence. There’s a cheat day in there for all of us…as long as it doesn’t turn into a cheat week, or month, or year.

24 responses to The Melange Report: Two Birds

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sometimes I am a bird tied to bad habits that keep me from my potential. When I can free myself of them, that’s when I can take off and soar.

      • joannesisco says:

        This is such a great insight. I will have to keep it foremost in mind as a struggle with my own sugar-fueled demons.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Yes, I have insight. Now to follow through! Good luck with killing your demons, I know you can do it!

  1. M-R says:

    You are a noble woman, and I mean that in all sincerity. I have no idea how I would have handled my own mama’s latter days of being someone else. And I know you have been a chocoholic for many years.
    So I take a swig of coffee in toasting you, Mary-Jean: you’re bloody marvellous !

    • bikerchick57 says:

      M-R, it’s really good to hear from you. I’ve missed your presence! Thanks for the toast, sweetie. You would have been fine with your own mama. I have found through this adventure with mom and my divorce that one can be courageous and determined when needed. It’s an automatic “I have to do this” reaction. Although it helped that I love my mom and had very negative feelings toward the ex. In regard to the sugar thing, I’m still a chocoholic. Natasha has been feeding my craving with avocado/cocoa pudding that requires only a scant amount of maple syrup or stevia. Yummy stuff that keeps me away from the dark chocolate aisle at the grocery store. 🙂

      • M-R says:

        I’m very happy that you like stevia as a replacement: I find its taste obtrusive. Happily, I’ve never been much of a sweet-eater of any kind. Did you get email from me, followed by an invite ?

      • bikerchick57 says:

        If I didn’t like stevia, I would be up a creek. It’s my saving grace. I’ll check my email when I get home. Can’t get to it right now…

      • bikerchick57 says:

        You have the correct email address. Send another one and I’ll be sure to check again. Perhaps the last one got accidentally deleted by moi, although I think I would have noticed your email.

  2. Good job at avoiding the bad office snacks and hitting the gym. That is willpower. Heck, nothing wrong with one GS cookie! Especially the minty chocolate ones!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Phil, I have to focus on keeping up the good habits. Two or three more months and I can add the biking back into the routine. As for the chocolate mint GS cookies, I cannot order those. They are worse than Oreos…not stopping with just one. I picked the Trio (gluten-free), lemonades and cranberry citrus. Those sound healthy, right? 😉

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I’m impressed. After the Steelers lost, no junk food was safe around me. Fortunately it was a late game. Thin Mints now qualify as vegan food, if that helps. One thin mint means one sleeve as far as I’m concerned. Good luck in your effort but do give yourself a treat now and then. You deserve it.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Not to worry, Dan. Of course, I will have an occasional treat. I’ve actually realized that “treats” don’t have to be sweet. Give me a piece of Neuske’s bacon or a handful of kalamata olives and I’m in treat heaven!

  4. Glad to hear this news about your mom, Mary. I’ve been muttering little prayers for her (and you) every day.

    Even my prayers couldn’t save the Packers. I’m sorry. MTM was upset, too.

    Congratulations on the food journal success!!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh, thank you so much for the prayers, Andra. Between you and friends and co-workers, the prayers have helped tremendously. I love you all!

      As for the Packers…well, I get a little sad every time I hear about the Super Bowl because I so wanted my team to be there. Oh well, next year we’ll get ’em!

  5. LB says:

    Here’s to one cheat day, and even better, the lifting of the Brandy Ban! So glad your mom is back to normal!

  6. Goodness, you’re a marvel, M-J. Just reading about your efforts has me reaching for the Tim Tams. But I’ll wait until you’re asleep. Thank heavens for time zones….
    Still cheering for you and waving my (admittedly now chocolate-smeared) pom poms madly!

Leave a Reply

