Why Didn’t They Win?

Packers Snow

I went for a walk in the snow,

to clear the mind and throw out the recycling.

I said goodbye to football and hello to another winter’s week.

Why didn’t they win the game?

I went for a walk in the snow,

the sound of distant cars muffled by a hat of green and gold,

the wet flakes moistening flesh and fabric.

What am I doing out here?

I went for a walk in the snow,

the pavement a swirl of white patches,

mind wandering to thoughts of dinner and hunger.

What’s for supper?

I went for a walk in the snow,

the landscape an image of brown and white,

wet and gravel clinging to athletic soles.

How far will I go?

I went for a walk in the snow,

the trek now almost over,

Christmas lights on our patio still glow.

When will we be told to take them down?

I went for a walk in the snow,

thoughts of a fan turn back to a football team.

They were soooooo close.

Why didn’t they win?

The walk in the snow and the pigskin season is over.

9 responses to Why Didn’t They Win?

Leave a Reply

