And so it starts…

Red came over early in the week to decorate the tree. This year’s theme: Elegant black and gold.

Tree & Kids 003Tree & Kids 005

It is spectacularly beautiful, far more than photographs can relay. The remainder of the festive decorations are up, including a gathering of Santas and two flamingos on the patio – colored green and gold and numbered 12 and 52. Go Pack Go!

Thursday, was Feed-Your-Face Day or Thanksgiving.

Tree & Kids 017

I eat like it’s my last meal – turkey, stuffing, mashed taters, green bean casserole, harvest salad, lemon coconut cake and anything that contains pumpkin. As much as I don’t care that I overeat, I always feel like this afterwards…

Tree & Kids 014

Yup, fat and comatose.

I’ve been on vacation since Thursday and it has been somewhat non-stop: Going to the movies, shopping for cookie baking ingredients, finishing the decorations, visiting with mom, taking care of the laundry, etc. Natasha and I will soon be out the door to enjoy dinner with her daughter and a good friend. More gorging! And when we return, I’ll either be baking the first batch of mouth-watering Christmas cookies or watching Star Trek DS9 reruns on Netflix. Or perhaps I’ll do both! Sunday promises to be the same – go here, go there, do this, do that, watch football.

This is how the holidays start.

20 responses to And so it starts…

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Sounds like a it’s off to a good start. I seem to prefer constant nibbling to eating a lot at one sitting. Although, I didn’t move much on Thursday.

  2. ladysighs says:

    And so it starts……
    I didn’t hear the whistle to start. 😦 I think you jumped the gun. PENALTY!!!!!
    I’m playing fair and waiting till 12:01 AM December 1. 🙂
    Your tree is beautiful!

  3. M-R says:

    You are a basically very happy person, who has had her share of downs (more than some), but who makes the ups negate them.
    Live long a prosper, dear M-J; and may you be happy forever.

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    I’m so jelly of you Americans and your Thanksgiving, I’ve been salivating reading about your feast, it all sound so good. LOVE your dining chairs, they are beautiful.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I think you could come up with a reason to have a feast of your own, Lottie. Any reason will do! Those are not my chairs…turkey day was held at Red’s house.

  5. LB says:

    Your table was lovely and the tree, too. Sounds like you had a wonderful vacation.
    and by the way, a friend gave me a recipe for Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies that was a hit!! Yum!

  6. Wow. As someone who always lets the kids decorate the tree, I’ve never seen an elegant one. Even before kids, I’d never manage anything so beautiful.

    As for Thanksgiving, how on earth do you turn around and effectively do it all again less than a month later for Christmas? Maybe it’s easier when it’s cold.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Yes, I think the cold has something to do with it. Keeps our minds busy, our stomachs full and our hearts warm. 🙂

  7. joannesisco says:

    I confess that I’ve been living in solidarity with my American friends for most of the last week and I’ve eating like there’s no tomorrow. Must . stop . now.

    I guess it really is the beginning of the holiday season 😉

Leave a Reply

