Please Stay

If haiku is the sashimi of poetry, tanka is its heartier hand roll cousin.

Trail and Hooah 007

Summer, why leave us?

You take the long days with you

The warmth seeps away

We shall miss your smiling skies

Please stay, for just one more month


It’s football season

Summer is waving good-bye

The pigskin is tossed

A wave breaks across the fans

Green and gold color the field


Summer is now gone

Frost covers the browning grass

Pumpkin patches rule

The holidays stand nearby

Waiting for fall to take course


Fall makes a brave stand

Red and gold leaves loosen grasp

Gently falling down

The season turns, turns again

Falling white and cold appear


Summer, we miss you

Miss the swimsuits and flip-flops

Stead, long underwear

Snow shovels, short days, gray skies

Winter tightens grip forever

18 responses to Please Stay

  1. M-R says:

    These are very nice word images, M-J, no doubt about it.
    But I fear TDP has done me a huge disservice: this means I’m going to be bloody swamped with poetry for the next however long.
    Happily yours is the first, so I’m receptive to it. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Not a fan of poetry? It’s not on the top of my list for writing style, but I decided I must “challenge” myself now and again. Keep the mind sharp, you know?

  2. I’ll send you a little summer in about the middle of January by which time I expect to be heartily sick of it.
    “haiku is the sashimi of poetry” – I love that!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I will accept your summer in January wholeheartedly. I’ll trade you a cooler full of snow balls and a pair of long underwear. PS: The quote comes from the Daily Post page. I can’t take credit.

  3. I hope it isn’t already cold up your way, Mary………MTM’s mom says you’re in a for another doozy of a winter. The flight from Milwaukee to Charleston isn’t bad…….. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      No, it’s not cold yet. I’m going to enjoy the beautiful fall days and hope MTM’s mom is wrong…although that is what I’ve been hearing. Oh well, with six pairs of long underwear, I can suffer through. 😉

  4. joannesisco says:

    Nooo – what’s this talk of another bad winter to come?!! I’m not ready. I’m still trying to recover from the last one! No! I won’t have it!! *pout*

    .. by the way, it’s a nice poem … well, except for the part about summer waving good-bye … really? did you have to?

  5. litadoolan says:

    I love this selection, so topical alas. I feel these things too! The ending has the gravity and heavy rhythm of the cold season..

    ‘Stead, long underwear

    Snow shovels, short days, gray skies

    Winter tightens grip forever’

    Fingers crossed for an Indian Summer!!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks