Pauline’s Dream

In my dreams, I envision a place.

countryside

This is the place of my dreams, but it is not

I do not want to be here, in the countryside

Green pastures are of no use to me

My dreams

they are of family

Wanting to be with family

Walking barefoot through the garden

Watching the men spread asphalt in the alley

The smell of wine coming from the basement

The smell of a German mother’s cooking

emanating from the kitchen

My brothers and sisters are there

Are you my sister Jean?

I miss you

I miss my family

That is where my dreams long to be

How did I get in this green pasture?

I don’t understand

Take me home

to the city

to the family dwelling

a set of steep stairs lead to the second floor

next to the railroad tracks

My brother and sisters are there

Why am I in this green pasture?

I want to go home

This nice young lady will take me home

What is your name?

Who are you?

Are you my sister Jean?

I miss you

I miss my family

Green pastures, they are of no use to me

Much like my eyes and ears

They do not bring me life

They do not bring solace

I search for my family, in my dreams

and when I wake

I find them

They are here

Green pastures are gone

17 responses to Pauline’s Dream

  1. M-R says:

    I would like to understand better, M-J … I suppose my first need is to know who Pauline is – may I ask that ?

  2. M-R says:

    And now I understand it perfectly. And it is touchingly wonderful. Your mother must have been a special lady to have produced a daughter like you.

  3. Megan L. says:

    Aww…my heart breaks for this woman and her memories of her family in her dreams. Beautifully written!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you so much. Pauline is my 95-year old mom, whose mind has been taking her back to family and growing up. The good thing is they are positive thoughts and dreams for her. 🙂

  4. kathleenmc1953 says:

    Very touching, Mary. This brought back memories of my mother…

  5. lyricalself says:

    Both the poems (I read the elegy too) are poignant. How complex is the mind and its memories. There is so much we take for granted, but finally love, even if a memory, remains and sustains. That is the sense I got from both these poems !

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you for your comments. Yes, love of family is what sustains mom and love of my mother is what sustains me.

Leave a Reply

