Into the Fray

  1. fray2/frā/
noun

  1. a situation of intense activity, typically one incorporating an element of aggression or competition.

 

Natasha Weather

Every time the mountain bike has come out of the garage this summer, it’s been an adventure – new trails found; a battle with mosquitoes and soft sand; searching for the trail head; pedaling more miles than thought possible; enjoying views of blue water and majestic oak; hurting in places one would rather not hurt.

None of the adventures, though, compare in intensity to the evening this photo was taken. Natasha and I left in sun, enjoying the warm weather and wooded trail to Arrowhead Park. Unfortunately, the stormy skies appeared when we were furthest from home. It looked ugly, the temperature dropped about 15 degrees and the wind was on the verge of wickedness.

Time to burn rubber.

Fortunately, we made it home without significant drenching, a lightning strike, or a wind-blown trip to Kansas. In the last stretch toward home, I picked up speed, put my head down and let the bike fly (as much as my legs would let it fly). First one home! Eat my dust spray Natasha!

Natasha tells me I’m a bit competitive.

Really? I was simply trying to stay dry…

11 responses to Into the Fray

  1. joannesisco says:

    I have yet to meet a cyclist who isn’t rather competitive 😉
    I’d be burning rubber too if storm clouds were barrelling down on me!
    The worst part about getting wet is having to clean the bike afterwards 🙂

  2. quarksire says:

    so glad i don’t have to battle mosquiterz here,,, 🙂 must be 2 HIgh fer them i guess…er sumpin IDK ….have a splendid weekend 🙂 …………. Q

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are lucky Q with no mosquitos…don’t have to spray yourself with chemicals to keep them away. Well, anyways, I am having a splendid weekend so far and I wish the same for you.

  3. LB says:

    Wow what a sky! Yep … I’ve raced a sky such as that on a motorcycle. MUCH more challenging on a bicycle!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks

  1. […] photo challenge: the fray Summerfield84’s English blogThe Takahama Shrine with thatched roofs Mary J MelangeInto the Fray One moment of now, every dayShattered photo roberts blogweekly photo challenge fray Life in the […]