Photo Relic

For this week’s photo challenge, I scoured past photos of places I have visited and wasn’t inspired to share anything. Nothing screamed relic.

But, this did…

Relic 002

It’s an album of many years past.

Relic 005

And photos older than the album itself.

The relic of a childhood.

I was kind of cute back then.

21 responses to Photo Relic

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Absolutely. The only albums I have now are for scrapbooking. Otherwise, I save photos on a CD or upload them to an internet site. Or make a mess of them on the computer hard drive.

  1. quarksire says:

    PS: u still are QT! yep yepppppp……….. ok now dat over wit i wunder myself why i save all the photo albums and my answer was well, someday i’ll have visitors or well, someday i might die , then well they might get lewked at by my grandkids i have never met! … tada fer now …safe weekend 2 U mj 🙂

  2. M-R says:

    I entirely disagree with you on this, Mary-Jean Melange (sic) !!!
    No relic your album, but something wonderful.
    How dare you ?!
    😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      And she’s back! It is a wonderful album, M-R, but those photos are a good 50 years old. Makes ME feel like a relic! :-p

      • M-R says:

        Have you scanned ’em ? Or are you prepared for them to die, eventually ?

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I was thinking of scanning, but it would ruin the album as the photos are glued onto the page.

      • M-R says:

        Bummer. You’d have to have it done professionally and it would cost an arm, a leg and an ear …

  3. I recently found a box of old photos and I spent hours just looking and remembering.. They are one of my prized possessions.. Great post for this weeks challenge!!

  4. joannesisco says:

    Very creative thinking to use a photo album as a relic. They really are now!
    I saw your comment about the photos being glued to the page. I have the same issue with our old albums. I’ve been scanning full and partial pages from the album I’m working with and then cropping the end result into separate photos. The results have been decent – given that the original photos aren’t great to begin with.

  5. I love a photo album. Sometimes we’ll be around the dinner table and a subject will come up in which Mother (moi) gets to use her oft-said phrase “I’ve been there”. (The trouble with having a wanderer for a parent.) The album gets pulled off the shelf and “There! See! Me at blah blah blah!”

    It just seems so much harder to fire up the laptop and find the relevant digital photo now.

    You were very cute. What’s that white stuff? 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know and I’m not talking about it. Have you been to Wisconsin in January? I think you should come and take a photo of the white stuff :-p

      • 😀 Tempting.

        Of course, even if I did, it wouldn’t have the desired effect. I’d just be excited to be experiencing something I don’t usually get to do in a place I don’t usually live. The power of the novelty value.

        I could post photos of the local beaches in summer. I’d just complain about the mosquitoes, the flies, the crowds of tourists and that it’s too hot and we don’t have an air-conditioner.

        Everything’s relative.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks

  1. […] Loving, Laughing…A City of Relics Mary J MelangePhoto Relic @vannillaRelic Freddy’s Photo ProjectAdelaide architecture of yesteryear Les Petits Pas de […]