A Seriously Skewed Collision

Do you ever notice how many different versions of you exist? We slip in and out of our different personas without even noticing.

Yes, we do, and today I was a bit skewed during a noon walk. I could not help myself.

skewed 005

Pointing the phone camera at an angle took the edge off the serious, obsessive/compulsive employee that dwelled in the corner office on Monday. That version of me – the person who works with spreadsheets, reports and various computer programs all day – often turns to another persona to save sanity…especially during the days or weeks or months of INsanity.

It’s true. I tell stupid chicken jokes to the co-workers, engage in frivolity with our managers (when it’s appropriate) and take skewed photos at lunch time. I’m not seriously serious every minute of the eight hour work day. I could never be. In fact, I would say that many of my personas collide during the day, no matter where I am or what I do. On any given day I can be a bevy of different people – quiet or loud; serious or silly; straight or skewed.

skewed 008

The day would be rather dull and flat if I only brought one persona with me. What would happen if I left the crazy, sugar-addicted cat lady at home? Or told the chicken joke lady that she needs to cross the road and stay there? Would I be a good employee if I didn’t keep a serious, focused side in the corners of my mind or fail to channel the woman who is overly organized?

I had one horrible moment when the angry persona collided with the good-natured persona, via the dirge of divorce. It was a raw moment, one I’d just as soon forget, when I said the “F” word in front the boss and then reduced myself to a pile of tears. I have since left that persona locked up in the cellar.

I traded her in for an English woman with a tiara and pearls – serious AND skewed.

 

 

14 responses to A Seriously Skewed Collision

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I love that picture! I was making reference to my latest make-believe character, Luna. Then again, I am a princess, you know…I have a pillow that says so.

      • M-R says:

        Ah. All is understood by this old fart ! [grin]
        You have a princess pillow, eh ? – I’ve just coughed up about $40 for a specialty shaped one (have to sleep on my back), but it didn’t occur to me to ask them to embroider ‘PRINCESS’ on it. Sighh …

  1. I think we’re all a bit skewed at times. Once in a while we need to have angled viewpoint. Its more fun that way. Relieves the stress too.

  2. joannesisco says:

    I like that thought of having different versions of ‘me’. I never really thought of it that way before now. There are versions I really like and versions – like you said – that I prefer to keep chained, muzzled and locked up far away. Great post!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you! I’ve realized over the years that my personas, although different, seem to work well together. Except for that one 😉

  3. litadoolan says:

    I’m a big fan of skewed photos! It’s like standing on a rocky boat watching the world 😉 I like the new persepctive.

Leave a Reply

