Chookas Dahling!

chukka-4

If you are expecting a story about shoes, you’ve come to the wrong place.

This post is about chookas, not chukkas. Chookas is a theatrical slang, used mainly in Australia, to wish a performer good luck – synonymous to “break a leg.” Actors, this is your 5 minute call. Chookas, everyone!  Fellow blogger and seasoned thespian Master of Something I’ve Yet to Discover  gave me her chooka blessing three days ago.

It worked. Thank you!

“Eclipsed,” the dinner theater murder mystery, is over and I survived. Both legs were broken; however, one little rogue pinky toe on my right foot repeated the right line at the wrong time, forgetting that Lady Moon could have died a bit more gracefully. Damn that teflon line! Fortunately, no bachelorette party attendees or cast members were harmed by the pinky toe. I believe the lovely peach-colored margaritas (they matched my dress) that were being consumed helped the audience members (who had no knowledge of the actual script) overcome any slip-ups. The bachelorette party was a fun group – willing to participate in the murder mystery and laugh at Hattie’s comments, Lady Moon’s hysterical death dance, and the ability of Luna to spit a beverage upon the butler. And they loved us, or so they crowed.

I am proud of myself for remembering my first line, not choking, staying in character, and pulling a kleenex out of my bra. Natasha and I were both nervous before the start of the play, but she said it’s normal. She’s done this 100 times and there are always nerves, until you step on stage. Then, it’s theater magic! (Natasha kept telling me) Don’t worry, you’ll be fine.

You were right, Natasha. Even with a blundered line, the show goes on and everyone lives to drink another peach-colored margarita.

As we were sitting at a local restaurant after the end of “Eclipsed,” eating a charbroiled sirloin steak and talking of plants, camping and naughty cats, I felt extremely warm in a joyful, accomplished way. I thanked Natasha again for encouraging me to do something I’ve never done before, to go outside my comfort zone, and for being the best study buddy/guidance counselor/at-home director I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing. As I said a few days ago, I want to do this again. And again. And again.

And again.

Til next time, cheerio and chookas dahling!

(Shared with Daily Post, Right to Brag)

 

 

 

14 responses to Chookas Dahling!

  1. Oh, wonderful!! I’ve been waiting for this post! (Sometimes being ahead of the pack in the time zone race can be a pain.) So happy to hear it went so well! (And, You’re Welcome!) Never mind the missed line – something always goes awry. One play I was in, the victim is supposed to say the name of one of the key characters as he dies. It’s a key plot point later in the play. One night the actor forgot the character’s name so just said “Aaarrgh”. We just had to go on as if he’d said the name and hope the audience didn’t notice. 😮

    Can’t wait to hear of future theatrical exploits. Once the bug has bitten…. 🙂

      • And they’re called chukkas? I’d never heard of that. We call them desert boots. Ah…memories. Always had a pair of Clarks desert boots when I was a teenager.

      • bikerchick57 says:

        I had a pair of chukkas and always suede booties with fringe. I think they were popular about the same time

  2. M-R says:

    Wonderful. Fabulous. Congrats. M-J !!! – knew you could do it.
    P.S. “Chookas” is a good luck term used in ballet circles, not theatrical. 🙂

      • M-R says:

        You must be on a lengthy high right now; I don’t see how it could be otherwise, when you’ve challenged yourself in a totally new arena and won. Yer a little ripper !! 🙂

      • bikerchick57 says:

        Yes, M-R, still on a high. And with this week of finally being able to do whatever I want, I’ll continue to bathe in that high.

  3. LB says:

    Congratulations for going outside your comfort zone! And I love that you feel so warm and accomplished for doing so. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks

  1. […] a Full House lifelessons – a blog by Judy Dykstra-Brown Beats of PiecesThe Right to Brag Mary J MelangeChookas Dahling! StructuresThe Trojan horse A Penny For Her ThoughtsRight to Brag The Happy HermitVideo Blog: […]