Dear Old Dad

I’ve been moving things around in the apartment, purging and filling up Rubbermaid boxes. This is in preparation for my bestie girlfriend, Natasha, to move in for awhile until we can find a “this is just about perfect” place to rent together. It’s not an easy chore when there are two households and two cats involved. But, we keep looking.

Anyhow…

In moving one of the china cabinets, I rediscovered dad’s family Bible

Moving around 002

and opened it up to find…

Dearolddad0001

“Dear old dad,” as he called himself, in the Army during World War II. He was a very handsome dude (my brother and I have his lips). Dad would have been 97 this past March had his sense of humor continued to breathe. Instead, May 10th brings about the day I said goodbye to his dry retorts, at 95. A positive, a blessing, is that I can still hear his voice and see his steel blue eyes.

Anyhow…

The moving around continues and so will my computer after I publish this post. Change of scenery.

22 responses to Dear Old Dad

  1. M-R says:

    How wonderful for you, my dear M-J !!! What an immense thrill it must’ve given you – and what a spear through the heart, as well … You Dad was indeed a handsome dude; and you’ve given me an idea to do the same thing. You won’t mind if I copy you in a week or two, I know; you’re a generous soul.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Go right ahead and copy away, M-R. Photos always keep memories of our loved ones near and remind us of what special people they are/were. I can’t wait until you share yours.

      • M-R says:

        I have such a beauty of him: it’s the very first photo in all my old albums. In his office, with a wonderful old intercom thing. Smiling …

  2. susipet says:

    Ah yes liked this post lots. I’m having time with my dear old dad now. There’s nothing like them…

Leave a Reply

