An Experiment in Kindness.

If we all tried this experiment, it might be a happy, smiling world! :-0

10 responses to An Experiment in Kindness.

  1. cathylass says:

    😀

    I think it all depends on where people try it, I don’t think a big store would have been the best place… people stressing around.

    Where I live now it would be “unacceptable” (as in people wouldn’t expect it, not like you’d be stoned for doing it!) to do so on public transport (unless something unusual happened – I still remember a bus detour from work having all us passangers laugh and cheer as the bus moved along at snail pace though a dirt track) or out shopping… but walkies with the dogs – that’s whole different matter.

    If you’re out in nature, or even walking about on the streets, as long as it’s after working hours, a smile, a nod and a hello is the norm. With our without a dog. 😀

    Of course I’m the sort of person who has no problems starting chatting to a person next to me on the tube, to their horror. I do believe there was actually a few that wanted to stone me just for chatting to them. 😀

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It’s a sad commentary to be afraid of being “stoned” for trying to smile or talk to someone…no matter where you are. I’m not sure how, as social animals, we’ve become more concerned about our “space” and ourselves than about embracing other people. I love people and the more connections I can make, the happier I am.

      • cathylass says:

        😀

        No I don’t care, I never worry what people will say or do to me. 😀

        Which incidently is why people WILL look at me like they want me dead. Hahahahaha.

  2. loisajay says:

    “I love people and the more connections I can make, the happier I am” is me to a T. Guess if they are unaccepting, either they are not angels or have just not received their wings yet.

  3. M. R. says:

    When I’m walking about I often address strangers if something gives me reason to, but not otherwise. You know, like “Looks to me like he might take your leg off ..” to someone with a teeny dog – that sort of nonsense. And I have NEVER known people to be rude in return. I suppose people find it easier to deal with humour than anything else (do I mean ‘would-be humour’? – probably …) 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      We have a renter in our building that I initially called “Angry Dude” (to myself), but I would always say “hello” to him. At first I got a nod back, but now he actually says “hello” and sometimes even half smiles. I don’t know what his story is, but kindness seems to work better than avoidance in his case.

      What do you mean “would be” humor? Humor is humor, M-R. If they can’t take a joke… ;-p

  4. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    Heck, there is nothing wrong with being nice to people we don’t know. You never know what you will get in return.

    Just not sure I would be overly friendly with people in a crowded Walmart. That’s a scary crowd!

Leave a Reply

