The Book, The Bag and the Blogger

Walk through the wardrobe into the land of Mishmosh. It’s a land where information is thrown together, but none of it is connected. A world where the hodgepodge mind exists and the visitor’s attention is thrown around like a hot potato.

Come and join me in this journey, won’t you?

NarniaC’mon, I won’t bite.

I promise that falling snow and cold is not involved in this post. I relished in the snow today as I traveled from store to store in search of raw meat and vegetables. Brushing the snow off the windshield was such a joy that I have chosen not to share my exuberance with my fellow travelers. You may be disappointed, but I urge you to carry on.

Leg of Journey, Part 1

I tried to reblog today.

Epic fail.

I tried to share a Nook book today.

Another epic fail.

Fellow blogger and writer extraordinaire, Andra Watkins, had her book officially published today. Titled To Live Forever: An Afterlife Journey of Meriwether Lewis, this novel is an excellent fictional read and one worth every turn of the page (or swipe of the e-reader screen). I was hooked within the first few paragraphs. On Andra’s blog page, you will find an important post from today (which I reblogged and then deleted due to the horrendous outcome) and information concerning a contest that everyone is welcome to enter. Andra is currently walking the Natchez Trace, from Mississippi to Tennessee, and will be blogging and posting pictures along her route. Characters of this book follow the Natchez Trace in a story of love and redemption. I give it *two thumbs up*.

I don’t want to talk about the Nook Book sharing, deleting, can-no-longer-reading fail of today. It required a call to Barnes and Noble. I’ll get the book back tomorrow.

Before we leave this leg of the journey, you may also want to check out And Then Like My Dreams: A Memoirwritten by the lovely Margaret Rose Stringer. This sassy Aussie has written a love story about her time on this earth with Mr. Stringer. Check out her blog and the book and make sure you call her Margaret Rose or M-R. There will be hell to pay if you don’t. :-p

Leg of Journey, Part 2

I walked into the office Friday morning and found a pleasant surprise sitting on top of the mess open space that exists on my desk.

Trader Joe 001

I love Trader Joe’s and it kills me that the nearest TJ’s is 90 minutes away. Shopping there is seldom. Perhaps someday, in the land of Mishmosh (or Appleton), TJ’s will deem our land worthy of their brick and mortar.

Getting back to the bag, which I absolutely love (I’m a lover of cool shopping bags)…inside was a card and a collection of yummy delectibles.

Trader Joe 004

Strawberry licorice, peanut butter filled pretzels covered in milk chocolate, sea salt chocolate brownie bites, organic mints, meyer lemon cookies, mocha cappuccino drink mix. It was a bag filled with naughtiness. It was also a bag given in thanks and appreciation by peers in another region of the state. I had been helping them with personnel processes while they filled two vacant positions and spent a day training the new people. The new people bought me lunch and that alone would have been enough of a thanks. I don’t mind helping out others and enjoy being the trainer/mentor/perceived know-it-all to others who do my job around the state. (Actually, I’m performing a knowledge transplant before I get old and senile and don’t remember squat.)

Back to the bag. As wonderful as the naughty contents may be and the best of intentions behind them, I’m not able to eat most of it due to lactose intolerance and gluten avoidance. I am also trying to lose 5 pounds. Guilt and sadness painted a swath over my face as I debated what to do with the treasure in the TJ’s bag.

What to do, what to do…

Ultimately, the chocolate pretzels and brownies have been shared with the office gang. The mints are in my purse. The drink mix, licorice and half a box of lemon cookies are making their way to Natasha’s daughter (yes, I said a half box of lemon cookies…love lemon cookies…sometimes love trumps lactose) and the eaten calories have been worn off at the pool and the mall.

I do love the bag.

Leg of Journey, Part 3

On Friday, I had my 1,000th follower. Yay! Thank you for reading! (So there you go, M-R, happy?) I believe I have to celebrate with a chocolate martini, because that would be totally appropriate on so many levels.

End of Journey

Back through the wardrobe you go. Time to leave Mishmosh.

narnia door

Don’t let the door hit you in the backside. That would hurt.

15 responses to The Book, The Bag and the Blogger

  1. Chocolate pretzels. I would strangle someone for chocolate pretzels right now………

    Thanks for the thumbs up and the share, Mary.

  2. ksbeth says:

    great post. love andra too and wish i was more tech savvy to help promote her and her book and her journey in some sort of normal way, but instead i will find some odd way to do so, i’m quite sure of it. i can identify with all of this, and love ti’s myself, and love your title. hopefully i can find my way out of the cupboard eventually. ) beth

      • ksbeth says:

        that is an excellent point, and would certainly be worth sticking around a bit longer…..

  3. M. R. says:

    Pissed meself the whole way through, M-J! I believe your posts are moving up the scale from good to great! Something to do with the way you mind … erhmm … works? – naaah: let’s say … gets up off the couch chewing a lemon cookie and wanders into the kitchen. Isn’t that what your mind does? [grin]
    You’ve read it? – you liked it? You were rendered silent by it? I would so LOVE everyone who reads it to write me a review; but I can relate to the fact that said group is too scared to say anything negative. Well, too embarrassed. Sighh …
    Your chocolate thing is becoming a worry. Possibly it’s been one to you for a long time. 😉
    THANKS SO MUCH, darlin – this is truly appreciated!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You need a pack of Depends, M-R, if you’re going to continue to read my blog. And, NO, I do not have a chocolate thing. It’s a chocolate LOVE. I don’t smoke, don’t drink much, can’t eat dairy, but I LOVE chocolate. It’s my one vice, if you can even call it that. You are welcome for the plug, my dear.

  4. Cathy Ulrich says:

    Lemon cookies are my favorite – especially Meyer Lemon. And we’re getting a Trader Joes just around the corner from my office! Yaay!

  5. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    I must be so lucky here in NYC as we have Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and Fairway all close by. I love those nuts and snack mixes they have. I also like the lemon cookies. Congrats on 1000 followers!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      There has been talk of a Whole Foods in Green Bay, so I’m hoping TJ’s will step up to the plate and arrive in Appleton.

  6. LB says:

    I love your first paragraph … it sure made me want to continue to read 🙂
    and while I hear about the glory of Trader Joe’s, I’ve never been in one! Someday ,,,
    I enjoyed my visit to Mishmosh

Leave a Reply

