Love of Many Shoes

Can one single day encompass the richness and diversity of experience — from the heartwarming to the heartbreaking — that love can produce? Does it even make sense to channel so much emotional energy into 1/365th of the calendar?

My answer is yes and no.

Yes, for the hopeless romantic; for the guy who intends on popping the question on February 14th; for the couple married on that day; for partners and married couples who make it the one day of the year to splurge on a dozen crimson roses and the big box of Godiva chocolates; for the restaurant owner who delights in an evening of patrons in love. Valentine’s Day can be the emotional high of the year for many.

My personal answer is no. This one day does not encompass the entirety of love. I will probably be home Valentine’s night, cleaning my bathroom or watching Shark Tank. I know, pretty lame. If you believe, though, I am going to “wah-wah” about not being “in love” or having an excuse to buy Godiva chocolates, you are wrong.

Why? Because I celebrate the day of love 365 days of the year.

With dangling shoes…

Love1

I don’t personally know who belongs to the shoes in the picture, but it is the symbolism of love in my world. Love of several legs and shoes that make up friends, family, co-workers, and the lady at Wil-Mar’s that hands out a free sample of chocolate confection every time I walk through the door.

(Yes, I do love the chocolate sample lady.)

(Don’t judge me.)

While love can be a focus on a particular day of the year, it’s an emotion that is ever present in life. I recently told someone that regardless of personal or financial circumstances, I have been blessed by a plethora of warm, breathing humans who make it a wonderful day whether it’s January or September, spring or fall, at 7:00 am or 10:00 pm, or any given day of the week. I cannot stress this enough. I have been blessed with human love, 365. From the girlfriend who “tells me like it is” and introduces me to chocolate martinis; to the unnamed person who gave me not one, but three gift certificates to the massage therapist; to the brother who supports what I do for our mother; to the friend that says it’s okay to swear once in while (as long as I don’t scare the cats or small children); to the co-worker who always shares the best grocery store deals of the week; and to the Mission ladies who always guide in faith. I do not have enough fingers and toes to count the ways that I love and am loved.

I am not personally in need of a Valentine’s Day.

I do not want for love in any way.

I simply ask for this…

Loe3

Shoes.

Shoes that are never far from my heart.

Shoes that are ever present with love, every day, without fail.

Happy Valentine’s (Shoe) Day…today, tomorrow, on February 14th and forever.

Click here for the love of a weekly writing challenge.

 

26 responses to Love of Many Shoes

  1. Well, I have to agree. My husband and I get a heart shaped pizza and drink wine every year. What’s the fuss for. I would prefer to enjoy each other and have surprises throughout the year. Because that’s what it’s about. Not some contrived holiday that’s sole purpose is to boost the chocolate and flower industry. Not that I am opposed to either. It just feels forced. Like you said, there is love everywhere all the time, you just have to notice it 🙂 Thanks for the post!

  2. M. R. says:

    You have a great big heart, M-J. I can only wish you more of the same, in terms of those who love you.

  3. librarylady says:

    You put a different slant on the cliche of Valentine’s day. I too love the picture of the dangling shoes. Is it a family group on vacation? A group of friends having a chat? It inspires all kinds of stories and aptly illustratess the words – we like each other.

  4. You and I are friendly soul mates. Because shoes matter more to me than many, many other things on earth. I love the photo, and the sentiment of this post.

  5. LB says:

    You have said it perfectly … we shouldn’t love on only one day any more than we should be kind to others on only one day. Excellent post … love the shoes

  6. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    I’m with you. V-Day has become a commercialized Hallmark holiday. Me and my gal don’t really celebrate it as we do so all year long. It’s always sexy time at our place and not on one day a year.

  7. We keep it simple on Valentine’s day too. No need to go all out. We have dinner and end up at home watching a movie while he drinks a beer and I have a glass of wine. As far as gifts go, all I ask if for flowers but if he brings home a diamond I wlll not be mad 😉

  8. Valentine’s Day used to be a big deal to me, but not anymore. Sure, I get my hubby a little something and he gives me a gift, but that’s all. We have a great relationship and I appreciate my husband every single day (okay, maybe there are a few days out of the year where I don’t appreciate him – hehe). We’re so comfortable in our relationship that many would call it boring. So what – I’m happy with that. Anyway, I really liked what you wrote here chica and love that dangling feet photo. Celeste 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks Celeste. I think it’s great that you both feel so comfortable in your marriage. That says easy peasy love to me…not boring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks