Thirteen Plus Two

Weekly Photo Challenge: Share a photo of “Family.”

scan0001

This is mom’s family.

Thirteen children.

Led and loved by two German immigrants.

Mom often refers to her mother as “a saint” for cooking, cleaning and raising thirteen children,

and for taking care of her husband.

When mom talks about her father, she speaks of his work ethic and the wine he made in the basement.

Mom also reflects on the garden that helped feed this brood

and the brother that was a POW during WWII.

Mom mistakes me for her sister Jeanne, with whom she was very close,

the memories of the nearby train track, sledding down the hill, and a Catholic upbringing swirling in her head.

Mom is the sole survivor of this large family.

She is third from the right, back row.

For the photos of others’ family, click here.

13 responses to Thirteen Plus Two

  1. M. R. says:

    Does this mean you have a whole load of these in your basement (or wherever), M-J? This one is in amazingly good nick!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      To be parents of 13 kids during that time had to be rough, but they overcame with love. I never knew my grandparents, but I was fortunate to know all of my aunts and uncles.

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    13 children! That is amazing. Imagine how much hard work it would have been. Just thinking about the laundry gives me a headache! I love these old photos, they always give me goosebumps looking at them ๐Ÿ˜€

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know, Lottie, mom tells me stories about the work it entailed to raise that many children. She says her mom was on her feet most of her life and I believe it.

  3. macingosh says:

    Wonderful family portrait in picture and words. Raising thirteen children is absolutely unbelievable for us (in the western world) today.

  4. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    My mom’s side also had a big family like that. Just my 94 year old grandma is left. Such great stories.

  5. bikerchick57 says:

    I have only two of these pictures of mom’s family and I have a few from when dad was a child. Not many, but I try to take good care of them.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks