Routine

“The constant challenge to decipher feline behavior is perhaps one of the most fascinating qualities of owning a cat.”ย ~Carole Wilbourn~

Gibbs 003 (2)

And so it was this morning

The same as every morning

The young lad is waiting in the bathroom, in the tub

Waiting for the water to go blub, blub

Human tells him “out!”

First a meow, then a pout

He hangs nearby, scolding

While human’s shower is unfolding

Come out, human, you are getting wet!

(That must be awful, I can bet)

Human laughs

while the young lad chaffes

Have it your way, he chides

(I’m not the one with the wrinkly hide)

Young lad puffs and lays near the sink

Waiting for water to run down the drink

For human to step out from behind the curtain

A towel in hand, for certain

When the fan will go on and the door will open a bit

To let the young lass enter without a fit

Gibbs 008

Onto her throne the young lass does go

Yes, the human said throne, and to that she says “so?”

The young lass surveys her land

and the backside of a young man

She says “That’s enough!”

And she is gone, just like that, in a huff

The young lad stays,

taking up his counter space

Watching human put stuff on her face

Getting ready for her is always a race

The blow dryer hums

Young lad thinks human shall be nuts

What makes you want to blow air in your face?

(Is that enjoyable to the human race?)

Young lad stays until the bitter end

When the light goes off, and to the couch he will attend

All is well, a nap is near

Routine, routine, young lad and young lass hold dear

16 responses to Routine

  1. M. R. says:

    I don’t just Like it, I LOVE it!!! I don’t believe I’ve ever seen that glorious charcoal creature up close before, and it’s your fault, you selfish thing! The little striped one is behaving typically femininely, eh? – like butter wouldn’t melt in her mouth.
    And the poetry! – is it that things we love are easy to make poetry about, d’you think, M-J?

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thanks for your “love” M-R. The charcoal creature is Gibbs, the stripey is Ziva, a/k/a Queenie cat. Since I do love my critters, the poetry seems to slip off the tongue…although I hurt myself once or twice trying to rhyme words. I really must learn free verse. As for being selfish, I do write about the kids on occasion. Here’s a very early post from March about the charming, impish Gibbs.
      https://maryjmelange.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/its-all-about-the-gibbs/

  2. M. R. says:

    Would you mind sending me an email (address in sidebar) so that I can get at you, pliz very moch?

  3. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    My old cat was just like this. Same personality traits as worded in your poem. I can really picture them calling us “humans”.

Leave a Reply

