Windows on the Hill

Holy Hill National Shrine of Mary Help of Christians is a Roman Catholic shrine dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary. The centerpiece of the shrine is a minor basilica. Holy Hill is located near Hubertus, Wisconsin, in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Milwaukee. The shrine has approximately 300,000 visitors per year. The pictures that follow were taken when my friend, Natasha, and I took a drive on an unusually warm October day in 2011 to Holy Hill. “Windows” were plentiful, the views were beautiful.

DSCN2225 DSCN2231 DSCN2233 DSCN2234

DSCN2235 DSCN2245

DSCN2236

The shrine is located atop a high kame in 400 acres of woods. Visitors can climb a 178-step observation tower to view the Milwaukee skyline 30 miles away. At approximately 1,350 feet above sea level, it is one of the highest points in southeastern Wisconsin.

If you want to see pictures of the basilica and learn more about Holy Hill, click here.

For other interpretations of this week’s photo challenge (window), click here.

18 responses to Windows on the Hill

  1. I love Holy Hill. We’ve been there once together, probably around the same time of year as you and Natasha. Everything was yellow as we walked through the stations of the cross in the woods. I don’t think our photos are as good as yours. 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I think the day lent itself to good photos, it was so gorgeous. Holy Hill is so close and, yet, I don’t get there often. A return trip may be in order this fall. 🙂

  2. M. R. says:

    Trust the left-footers to get the best vantage point. [grin] Don’t fret: I was raised a Catholic. I can tell you weren’t because you add the descriptive. Lucky you.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh contrare! I was also raised Catholic…then I wandered away…now I attend non-denominational, which I love and my mother dislikes.

  3. Leonas Lines says:

    Oh Wow! Did this bring back memories! My family used to visit Holy Hill quite often when I was a child. I remember climbing the towers and looking out over the countryside. It was pretty scary back in my day because the windows did not have the protection over them that I see they do now. I also did climb the one tower that was later closed. We always had a great time there, brought a picnic lunch and ate on the grounds and always visited the gift shop. Thanks for the nice memories.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You are welcome! Isn’t it great to have those fond memories? The day we were there, it was pretty crowded. The climb up was a little slow, and very warm due to the body heat and outside temps. But no complaining here, it really was a wonderful day!

  4. quirkyjazz says:

    My family heard a lovely concert given by a wonderful symphonic band there in early December. It was spellbindingly beautiful.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Sounds lovely! I didn’t realize that they were open in December or had concerts on grounds. Will have to keep my eye open for other such events.

  5. LB says:

    I would love to climb that tower! What a view … and I love your shots of the fall leaves.

  6. The Regular Guy NYC says:

    If I am ever out there I will visit this place for sure. What a view!

Leave a Reply

