One Treasure Amid Many

This week, we want to see photos that focus on one thing. 

DSCN4017

I have a curio cabinet, given to me by my parents, with a plethora of many items that hold special memories.

Mom’s collection of Royal Albert bone china

A collection of unicorns

China plates and stemware that belonged to my dad’s mother

Black and white photos of my dad as a child, mom in her younger days, grandparents

Gifts that were given by good friends.

The one special item, the one that is noticed, the one that is larger than anything else within the confines of said curio cabinet is a china doll. The china doll head belonged to my father’s mother. In the early 70’s, my dad found a local woman who did a fabulous job of adding a torso, arms, legs, petticoat and a dress to the beautiful doll head.

The doll is a memory of dad, a reminder of family, a forever treasure.

One special treasure amid many.

For a look at many “ones”, click here.

5 responses to One Treasure Amid Many

  1. M. R. says:

    Mary J Melange (you idiot! [grin]), I just love this one … You don’t know how lucky you are to have so strong a link to your father. I’d give just about anything to be in the same position: I adored mine. And you’re right, of course, about the torso-maker: great job!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Margaret, I sadly didn’t realize how much I loved my dad until after he was gone. I still hear his voice and that I hope to hold onto forever, along with the doll.

  2. M. R. says:

    Oh, you will. But it is indeed sad that realisation came only when you’d lost him: me and three of my four sisters knew we all adored our father. He was a very spoiled father! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks