Red Wine Selfie

DSCN3923

Natasha came over last night to help decorate the tree.

But first…

The bottle of Menage A Trois was opened.

Glasses poured.

Dinner eaten.

A couple more glasses poured.

And then…

We started going through all of the ornaments. Natasha suggested a “Red and Cat” theme for the tree. “Awesome!” I proclaimed. (I have procured many cat ornaments over the years, enough to fill most of the tree.) Red was not difficult either as I have quite a few red ornaments, red beads, and a big red bow. No need to go out and buy anything, which is good since I already own six plastic tote containers filled with Christmas stuff. I love Christmas and it seems a year cannot go buy without purchasing new Christmas stuff.

Anyhow…

Among the Christmas stuff, I found a plastic bag of Mardi Gras stuff…beads, colored masks, and three teeny tiny plastic babies. Natasha didn’t know what the plastic babies were for. She thought they were representative of a pagan symbol.

“No, it goes in the cake.”

“What cake?”

“The King Cake.”

“Huh? I thought you put a coin in the cake?”

We had to check Wikipedia for details: “The cake has a small trinket (often a small plastic baby, said to represent Baby Jesus) inside (or sometimes placed underneath), and the person who gets the piece of cake with the trinket has various privileges and obligations.”

There you have it!

Things kind of went downhill from there. The red wine took effect. The giggles set in. The masks went on. The cake babies ended up on our foreheads. I’m not sure if a symbol of the Baby Jesus is supposed to end up on our foreheads, but it’s too late now.

Natasha and I laughed so hard, I thought for a moment about Depends. (There were more antics, but in the sense of decorum, I’ll stop here.)

Let’s just say that red wine, masks, and King Cake babies make for a snorting good time and an awesome selfie.

Happy Mardi Gras Christmas!

6 responses to Red Wine Selfie

    • bikerchick57 says:

      It WAS a fun evening, Judy. Love you too. I hope we can get together in the new year, it’s been far too long.

  1. LB says:

    Red wine – the perfect recipe for FUN! (and a headache the next morning if hydration at bedtime is forgotten!). Love a King Cake too …

    • bikerchick57 says:

      I know, I have to be careful with red wine. Two glasses are usually my limit and enough to make me silly.

Leave a Reply

