It’s Cookie Baking Time!

DSCN3161

Today begins Cookie Baking Extravaganza week! WooHoo!

I have started baking Christmas cookies for my friends and family (and a few for myself). Today’s blog post is merely a break in the action (my back needs a rest).

It’s an annual event that I start in early December so that I have time to get the cookie varieties packaged in tins and a couple of boxes sent to my brother and his girlfriend.

Today, I passed on church in favor of an early morning swim and a start on the “let’s throw flour everywhere” process.

Last year, I tried a few new recipes. Only one deserved a repeat performance. The remainder of my baking set list returns to the annual favorites – those that always get the “thumbs up,” the cookies that are “expected”.

Chocolate Crinkles… (it’s chocolate!)

Outrageous Peanut Butter/Oatmeal/Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies… (Good-for-you ingredients)

Date Bars… (one of my faves)

Buttery Pecan Fingers… (melt-in-your-mouth goodness)

Gingerbread Cookies with Lemon Icing… (another of my faves)

Lemon Curd Cookies… (a most requested morsel of lemon goodness)

Is your mouth watering yet? I’ve already completed and quality tested the Pecan Fingers and I can tell you that they pass inspection.

I love baking cookies this time of year. It gets me in the mood (I hauled out the tree last night) for Christmas and it’s my favorite gift to give because I know it’s going to “fit”. I’ve learned a few things over the years – such as how the quality of ingredients, baking sheets, and perfect timing can deliver very tasty and good-looking morsels. I’m experimenting this year with gluten-free flour in a couple of the recipes, so keep your fingers crossed it works out!

I’ve also learned that I tend to get carried away and make too many cookies, which add five pounds to my hips every year with the leftover cookies that I must eat to create more space in my freezer. I’m seriously going to try and avoid that this year because I still haven’t lost the Oreo cookie five pounds from this past summer.

Well, my break is over. I must carry on and throw a little flour into the dough and onto myself.

It’s that time.

15 responses to It’s Cookie Baking Time!

  1. Kim says:

    I wish I was your friend and lived closer. Those look great! 🙂

  2. Yum! I over baked last year and I’m going to try and not do that this year. Your oatmeal/PB/dark choc cookies might be making an appearance on my baking list this year. Those sound great!!

  3. Liz says:

    My extra pounds go to my stomach, I wish I could shed it off. I shall take cue and start baking early like you. I wish I was your neighbour. I could certainly help you clear all the extra cookies. Have a fabulous week!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ah yes, the stomach pounds. I have some of that too! And, thanks, I will have a fab week and I wish the same for you.

  4. LB says:

    I’m so glad I read this post! Each year, I commit myself to avoiding anything Christmas until after Thanksgiving … then I wake up the morning after my most favorite holiday and semi-panic!
    I do love baking and it is one of the best parts of the Christmas season. I tried a ginger cookie last year that was very good, but I love your take on gingerbread with lemon (and lemon curd, too).
    You’ve inspired me to start thinking Christmas and baking!

  5. I have not began my cookie baking yet. I have no freezer space so I do it close to Christmas. I, also, make fudge for gifts: peanut butter, chocolate mint, and chocolate.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Oh yum! I used to make a fudge that was half peanut butter, half chocolate. The peanut butter cut the sweetness of the chocolate fudge. By the way, considering what the weather is like, I would say we both have an “outside” freezer if we need to use it!

  6. bikerchick57 says:

    Reblogged this on Mary J Melange and commented:

    I don’t usually reblog my own posts, but here goes. I thought it appropriate since I just spent Friday, Saturday and Sunday baking seven different cookie recipes; running to the store every day for missing ingredients, and doing dishes until I puke. New this year in the cookie artillery is a lemon crinkle recipe that is extremely messy, but only requires three ingredients: Lemon cake mix, one egg and an 8 oz container of Cool Whip. They are extremely yummy and I shall be making them again next year. Give me anything with lemon and I’ll love you forever! Anyhow, if you enjoy baking and have a favorite cookie recipe (holiday or otherwise), feel free to post a link to it in the comments. I’ll start…
    http://kitchenmeetsgirl.com/lemon-crinkle-cookies-guest-post/

Leave a Reply

