Breath and Life

Meaning-of-life

I’m giving thanks this week for breath and life.

As I do every morning.

I thank God I’m alive.

Every morning.

For without breath and life I cannot give thanks for anything else.

There would be no turkey and dressing.

Or family to discuss the pros and cons of jellied cranberry sauce.

Without breath and life, I would not be able to visit my mom.

I would not be able to see the smiling faces of my co-workers.

I would not be able to indulge in a chocolate cupcake.

I thank God I’m alive.

Without breath and life, there would be no edge-of-the-seat moments at the movie theatre,

or teeth gnashing over a Packer game,

or singing along to my favorite Journey song.

I would not see eight gray paws every morning as I rose.

I would not smell fresh-brewed coffee.

I would not hear the eight paws sing for their breakfast.

I thank God I’m alive.

Without breath and life, I would not smell the earth in spring.

I would not feel winter’s cold against my face.

I would not feel the warmth of the summer sun as I walk the trails.

There would be no friends,

no community,

no dancing.

I thank God I’m alive.

Without breath and life, the “could-nots” would be many.

I could not give my girlfriend a long hug.

I could not swim laps at the pool or sweat at the yoga studio.

I could not have Iron Chef weekends or print recipes from Pinterest.

I could not annoy people with endless pictures of my cats on Facebook.

I could not share my life on WordPress.

I thank God I’m alive.

Without breath and life, my soul would give thanks for the place I have in heaven.

My life here on this earth would be nonexistent.

My mom would wonder why I didn’t come on Saturdays.

My cats would have to find another home in which to spread their excess fur.

Someone else would have to learn my job.

My blog page would not be read.

I would not know you.

You would not know me.

With breath and life, I am blessed.

And I thank God I’m alive.

4 responses to Breath and Life

  1. librarylady says:

    Thank you for that beautiful post. So many things to be thankful for. this points the importance of small pleasures, that everyday life is made up of.

Leave a Reply

