Perspective

Think about something that drives you crazy. Now, think about something that makes you happy. Does it change your perspective on the former?

perspective

Crazy:  Slow drivers

Happy: Fast drivers

Crazy: Slow checkout lane

Happy: Fast checkout lane

Crazy: Slow coffee pot

Happy: Fast coffee pot

You get the point, right? Slow makes me crazy. I appreciate fast.

Let’s get it done. I want it now. I have places to go, people to see, things to do.

Let’s hurry it up.

Which makes me an unfit candidate for golfing. “Be the ball!”

No, I don’t want to be the ball. I have places to go, people to see, things to do.

How does fast bring perspective to slow? How does happy bring perspective to crazy?

For me, it doesn’t. The above happy in relation to crazy is impatience and a need for something now, now, now.

Perspective comes from outside the confines of my skin and bones.

It comes when I see people homeless from tornadoes, floods, hurricanes and storms.

When I see others homeless because they can’t find work and have no money for rent.

When friends and family are suffering with illness and injury.

When loved ones are lost to this earth.

This brings my personal definition of perspective.

Perspective is not about crazy or fast, it’s about having that V-8 moment when you realize your life is blessed and you need to stop hurrying, scurrying and whining about stuff that doesn’t matter.

Like that crazy, slow driver.

Find additional perspectives here.

 

8 responses to Perspective

  1. Swoosieque says:

    Thanks to Library Lady, I found your blog and will be visiting regularly! Great perspective you’ve got there. 😉

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and thanks to the Library Lady. I think I owe her chocolate or a new book.

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks