A Talkative Day in the Neighborhood

Talkative People

As I type this next post, I am equally tired and irritated. I have neighbors who like to talk.

I live in an apartment complex and I have found from past and present experiences, some humans do not understand the term “voices carry”. It is especially unrecognizable to them during hours of darkness, when vampires roam the earth and most day-shift people sleep. The neighbors in the building across from mine are oblivious to the sounds emanating from their lips during this time of night, keeping me awake as I count the rotations of the ceiling fan above my feet.

Last night, the “blah, blah, blah” continued for 30 minutes . . . long enough for irritation and the slamming of a bedroom window. I believe they heard the “hint” as the cacophony ended about a minute later.

People! I don’t want to hear personal tidbits about your life or your mother’s sexual exploitations while you smoke and let your little doggie pee at 11 pm. The smoking and dog peeing are OK. The talking is not. Talking in a loud voice is OK for the mall, at an amusement park, at a loud music concert, at a hearing-impaired parent, and inside the confines of your own home or apartment.

Neighbor, I am not sure what goes through your head while I’m counting rotations. “Hey! Let’s go outside when most of the other residents are sleeping and talk loudly! They won’t mind! I don’t think they can hear, but if they do, they would LOVE to hear about all of my mother’s boyfriends and how you don’t have a job and how awful everyone else is because they are not nice like us!” 

Yes, I know they are not thinking that, but what else then? Is it a matter of humans becoming so wrapped up in themselves that they don’t realize how their actions affect others? What is it?

When I was married and living at a different zip code, a duplex renter behind the apartment building would make a fire in the fire pit quite often during the summer. This would not have been a bad thing had he and his wife not proceeded to haul out the beer, yell at their kids and talk exceedingly louder as they grew increasingly drunk. The cops were called many times and they were eventually evicted.

On the other side of the apartment building, across the parking lot, was another building (part of the complex) that housed a very special family. You would not see them all day. Not a peep. At 9:00 pm, however, out they would come with their lawn chairs. And their cooler. And their beer. Much like the fire pit people, their loudness was based on the number of beer cans they would empty. One night, it got out of hand as a full-fledged party ensued on the lawn and I don’t believe anyone in the complex was asleep. The cops were called, they were eventually evicted.

I have witnessed other misbehavior of apartment dwelling – loud car stereos, children who aren’t watched by their parents, chairs being thrown through glass windows, food being burned on the stove, fire trucks arriving . . .

You would think I’d be used to a little talking. Sadly, I am not. I’m old and get up early. I require sleep.

A plea to my neighbors: Be considerately quiet tonight. Then tomorrow night. And the night after that. And for all eternity. Quiet.

It’s OK if you want to hang outside and smoke or let your doggie pee.

The talking . . . . not so much.

8 responses to A Talkative Day in the Neighborhood

  1. melissa nacinovich says:

    LOL awesome! I detest apartment living and totally feel your pain.

  2. Colleen says:

    Psh! You’re not old. 🙂 And I can relate with the loud noises and inconsiderate behavior. I live in a pretty urban area and one of our neighbors decides to hang out in his car at 11pm and blast rap. Seriously. What’s the point of this? The car is parked behind the apartment building and he’s the only tenant living there. Who could he possibly be trying to impress? I guess he doesn’t understand the concept that people actually have to be up at 5:00am to make a living. However, I have to say, I’ve never had a problem with the people in my building. I’m sure we could swap plenty of stories with each other!

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Ha! We’ve had the loud rap music in a car here. Shakes the buildings. I haven’t heard him in awhile, though, so he may have been told to keep it down.

  3. Sharon Oldenburg says:

    I am flabbergasted that people in my apartment complex don’t understand how their voices carry into the surrounding apartments. Last night, a warm night, my windows were open, as I know most everyone’s were. A couple was standing on their 2nd floor balcony, at 2:30 a.m. talking VERY loudly. So I called the police. And then at 3:30 a.m. they decided to walk their dog, and they stood in front of my building talking to the guy sitting on his balcony above me, complaining how someone called the police on them. Really?? How stupid and inconsiderate. I just don’t get why they don’t understand how their voices carry.

Leave a Reply

