Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

FVTC Trail 002

Prairie coneflowers, mid summer.

I went for a bike ride one night this week. The weather was perfect – blue skies, low humidity, temps in the 70’s. My ride led me around the neighborhood, across a busy street, and over to the local technical college and the start of a walk/bike trail.

As the sun began to creep toward the horizon and I made my way into the belly of the trail, prairie coneflowers made an appearance at path’s and pond’s edge. I stopped to take this picture with my non-smart phone.

Flowers are masterpieces of nature. A coneflower, in my perspective, is Leonardo’s Mona Lisa or Bosch’s The Garden of Delights. In any size, shape or color, coneflowers stop me in my tracks and make my mouth agape at their masterful beauty. This day was no different. I could have sat in a chair, in the middle of the trail, and watched their long, narrow leaves sway in the wind until the dusk turned into night.

Follow this link to the photography challenge and additional masterpieces.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/07/26/out-of-this-world/

2 responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Masterpiece

Leave a Reply

Pingbacks & Trackbacks