NoGo on the Blogging MoJo

Since coming to WordPress in March, I’ve been a regular blogger. Not a daily blogger, but regular. When I started MaryJMelange, I had the aspiration of blogging once a week. I didn’t believe I would have time for anything more due to having a job, family obligations, church functions and a social life. I surprised myself. My thoughts and ideas have made it from head to blog at least two or three times a week. It’s been more fun than a kitten having its way with a felt mouse. Then this week came along and blogging became difficult. I started two separate blogs and couldn’t finish either one.

Stuck. Dead End. Road closed. No go on the blogging mojo.

I finally realized this morning that it hasn’t been a great week and it’s affected my mood and writing sensibilities. Here’s why.

Marathon Monday.  Another senseless act of violence.

Boston Marathon

Tuesday came and went, with the media focused on the bombing, the many victims, and the manhunt for the culprits. I have a difficult time reconciling how anyone has the kind of hate, anger and total disrespect for humanity that leads to acts of terrorism. Incomprehensible.

On Wednesday, the Senate rejected a compromise plan to expand background checks on firearms sales and a proposal to ban some semi-automatic weapons modeled after military assault weapons. It’s been reported that 91% of Americans supported the legislation. I’m tired and frustrated with the political system in our country, the same system that is “by the people, for the people.”  OK, whatever.  The lobbyists and special interest groups are laughing as I type.  (If you want to read a full-on rant about this subject, you can check out Democracy for Sale.)

Off I went to my ladies’ group at church on Wednesday evening.  Our discussions gave me an emotional boost as I once again realized how much my awesome circle of friendship has blessed my life. This was a nice break from the crappy news of the week thus far.

Thursday brought continued coverage from Boston, continued discussion of gun control, and the aftermath of an explosion at a fertilizer plant in Texas that claimed at least 12 lives.  The week was not going well in this country.

In between the bad news coming from my radio and TV, the weather continued to suck here in Wisconsin.  It’s still sucking today, evidence from my camera. SNOW.

004

I stuck my tongue out at the snow as I donned my long johns and winter jacket this afternoon to go for a walk.  I’m still working The Gauntlet after all.  My mood doesn’t matter, my motivation does, and I will not be distracted by snow.  In the words of my Facebook friend, Amy, “Screw you April Winter!”

The last bad news of this not-so-good week came early Friday morning. If you read my blog God At the Pool last month, you know I’ve been praying for a friend Becky Jo who had been fighting colon cancer. She lost her fight this week, even with lots of prayers and love from around the country and around the world. I came to know Becky Jo from my Peep life, a journey that started eight years ago when a little show called American Idol brought fans from around the country to vote for their favorite contestant. It was Season 4, the year of Carrie Underwood, Bo Bice, and the best Top 10 to ever sing and share pointy group poses on the Idol stage. Like many others, Becky Jo voted her fingers off for Bo during that season of Idol, and I had the pleasure of meeting and spending time with her a few times in Nashville while we listened to Bo sing on stage. Becky Jo was one of those people that instantly won you over, one of the sweetest people I’ll ever met. I am fortunate to have known her, but deeply saddened that cancer took her life. I wish I would have hugged her more often and a little harder the last time we met.  Rest in peace, sweetie.

Bo and Becky

Tonight, I finally reconciled the week.  I worked this morning, laughed over lunch with friends, walked the aisles of the grocery store, went for ^the April winter walk^, shed a few more tears for Becky Jo, and watched TV as they caught the final suspect in the Boston marathon bombing.  I’m going to finish this blog, read for awhile, and call it a night.

Saturday will be the start of a new week.  I’ll try to find something silly and stupid to post in the morning, take my mom out for lunch, go to the gym, and work on a craft project with friends while we sip on margaritas (craft project may or may not turn out).

I might get my blogging mojo back to normal this coming week. If not, expect pictures of Gibbs begging for chicken.

10 responses to NoGo on the Blogging MoJo

  1. Joan_JamCam says:

    Mary, thank you for your words. It’s as if you were writing my thoughts. Exactly. Except the winter walk thingy…yuck. Love you and miss you and I’m gonna hug you more next time I see you.

    • bikerchick57 says:

      You’re welcome Joan. If a certain redneck rocker would come up with that Chicago date, I’d be able to hug your neck lots.

      • Marianne says:

        It’s been a sad week for sure. I’ve found it hard to get with it, just want to sleep. I hope the coming week is better but this cancer thing getting to family and friends really sucks. Miss you!

  2. Linda June says:

    you’ve captured every emotion I’ve had this week perfectly. Wonderful blog ❤

  3. ksbeth says:

    mary j – thanks for stopping in a reading my words, i like the look of your blog and look forward to reading more from you – beth

Leave a Reply

