Waiting for Resemblance of Spring

meltingsnow

It’s April and I’m still looking at snow on the landscape.

It is the snow that remains from plowed mountains of flakes, the snow that hides in the shadows of buildings, and the snow that has turned the grimy color of road.

Where is spring?

*crickets*

Hello?

It was an extremely long winter here in Wisconsin.  Eternity.  January was the worst for me – very cold weather and a personal struggle with flu and bronchitis.  It’s hard enough to go outside when it’s -20 (yes, that’s 20 degrees BELOW zero), let alone trudging off to work when you feel like crap.  I could have thrown the entire month away, erased it from my memory, jumped right to the next month.

I had hope for February, that there would be warmth and sun, but hope was nowhere to be found.  It snowed. And it snowed. Then it snowed again for good measure.

It’s a good thing February only has 28 days.

March always brings the end of winter, or so I’ve been told.  On March 17, 2012, I sat on the sidewalk of a small town, light jacket, with my date, watching a parade, eating ice cream.  The high that day was in the 70’s.  This year, the high was not even close, perhaps around 30 degrees.  In fact, here in the land of cheese and green and gold football, it took until the end of March before we saw a temperature rise above 40.  I was not happy.

I was this close (I have two fingers a hair width apart from each other) in early March to packing my suitcase, getting in my car and driving to any location where the sun was present and temps were above 50 degrees.  I threatened, I stomped my feet, and I ultimately stayed in Wisconsin. (The cold weather incapacitated my ability to follow through with threats.)

And now we are in April and it hasn’t started well, although the weather forecast has been for above-normal temps in April, May and June.

This is what I looked like on April 1st, as I went for a walk on the first day of The Gauntlet, my latest 30-day challenge.  The temp was back in the 30’s and windy.  Brrrrrr.

spring and walk 005

Happy April Fool’s Day!

Thankfully, a 50 degree, albeit rainy, day is on tap this week.  I’ll take what I can get until the above-normal weather kicks in.  At least I’m able to go for walks on pavement that is not covered by snow and ice.  The next goal is to get my mountain bike out of the garage and go for a ride without freezing my face.

I know warmer weather will be here soon…patience…just a little longer…maybe in June.

2 responses to Waiting for Resemblance of Spring

  1. Jackie says:

    And whereabouts are you? We’re all thunderstorms and flowers in PA. Grats on getting out for The Gauntlet 🙂

    • bikerchick57 says:

      Flowers? I’m so jealous and sitting here in Wisconsin, where we are currently having sleet, ice and snow. Bah humbug! Not to fear, though, the Gauntlet challenge goes on – that’s what they make gyms for.

Leave a Reply

