“Do I Know You?”

Image

“You look familiar.” The words came from a man behind the counter at a local gas station.

“No, I don’t think so,” I replied, laughing a bit on the inside.

“Is your name Linda?” he asked.

“Nope.”  I’m not going to tell you my real name, the inside laugh increasing in intensity.

He stares, seemingly puzzled.  “Do you work retail somewhere around here?”

Again, I answered in the negative, my blue eyes sparkling with the light-hearted chuckle in my head.

“Wow, you look so familiar, do you have a really cute twin?”

Ohfercryinoutloud.  *rolls eyes* *snorts*

OK, I’ll forgive the transparent flirting because you said I was cute (Rudolph can relate), but my silent chuckle has turned into a full-on inward laugh that has become increasingly difficult to retain.

Additional chatter and puzzling looks ensued while he weighed my bananas and I asked for my winning $2 lottery ticket, gave him cash, and he told me he’d see me again (a standard goodbye from employees at the gas station).

Are you wondering why I was chuckling, laughing and snorting in my head?

A year and a half ago, I started my dating life on a popular internet dating site.  One of my first contacts was gas station guy.  We talked (my first inquisition) for about an hour on the phone and we agreed to a date.  A few days later, he broke said date due to personal reasons and we never rescheduled.  That was okay with me.  The one-hour phone call did not elicit any “wow, I like him” thoughts from my gut or my head, and he had some family dysfunctional issues that I did not want to add to my life.  I was relieved there wasn’t a push for another date.

So, yes, gas staion guy, I am familiar.  You’ve been looking at my mug on the dating site for the last year and a half.

I wonder when he’s going to figure it out.

I think I’ll stay away from the gas station for awhile.  I’ll get my bananas at the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

